Creating, editing, and deleting users

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

You can invite or remove users from the site Administration area, or you can integrate with G Suite for user and group management.

Invite users

When you add a user to your Users list, you're inviting a user with that specific email address to your site. If the user with that email address has an Atlassian account, they'll now be able to log in to your site. If the user doesn't have an account, we'll walk them through the Atlassian account signup process. Although they're logged in to your site, their account exists outside your site so that they can use that same account to log in to other sites.


  1. Go to Application picker Site administration.
  2. Click > Invite a user in the sidebar.

  3. Enter the Email address you want the user to log in with (you can enter more than one at a time).

    If you add a user's wrong email address to your site

    If you invite a user using an email address other than their Atlassian account email address, and they end up creating a new Atlassian account, they can't combine the two accounts. You'll need to re-invite the user with their original account and remove access for their other account. If they created any content while logged in with the second account, that content will still exist but will be associated with the user details of the original account.

  4. Select products from the Application access list.
    When you click Create users the user will be in groups for those products, so you can always change them later.
  5. Domain-restricted signup is enabled, based on the email address domain (such as @sample.atlassian.com) of the user's email address.
    To prevent domain-restricted signup for that domain, just deselect Allow any account...; we won't offer to add that domain again.
    Note that you won't see the Self signup field until you've entered an email address at Step 3, or if the email address is from a domain that has previously been added. See Configure site access for more information.
  6. (Optional) Add the user to additional Group(s) for your site.
  7. (Optional) If you don't want to send the Invite message when you click Create user, deselect Send invitation email.
    When you're ready, go to the Users page and click Resend next to the user.
  8. Click Create users.

If you've linked Bitbucket accounts with Jira products, you can add new users to a Bitbucket group from the Bitbucket groups page.

Send reminder emails to users you've invited

This section only applies to managing Jira Cloud users.

You might have users you've invited to your Jira Cloud site, who never log in. This can get quite costly because you're billed for all users you've invited - including those who have never logged in. To help you stay on top of this, we'll send you a notification in your Atlassian Cloud site every week with a list of these users, so you can send them a reminder email. You won't get any notifications if every user you invite logs in to your site.

If you'd like to stop these weekly notifications, please contact Atlassian Support.

Edit user's accounts

An organization admin can only edit details of accounts that have become managed as a result of domain verification – see Organization administration.

For unmanaged accounts, only the user can edit account details – see Atlassian account for users.

Deactivate or delete users

Delete a user if you don't want them to appear on your site at all. Deactivate a user if you don't want them to log in to your site, but you still want to manage them. Deactivated users don't add to your user count, and you can filter to see all deactivated users from the Users page.

You'll need to deactivate a user's account rather than delete it if the user has done any of the following:

  • Reported or been assigned to any issues in Jira products.
  • Commented on any issues in Jira products.
  • Added or edited any content in Confluence (including edits and comments on existing pages).

To deactivate a user:

  1. Go to Application picker Site administration.
  2. On the Users screen, select the user you want to deactivate.
  3. On the user details screen, click Deactivate.

You can always reactivate a user later if you want to – just click the Activate button on the user details screen.

To delete a user:

  1. Go to Application picker Site administration.
  2. Select the user you want to delete.
  3. Choose Delete.

Note that deleting a user from your site in this way has no affect on the user's Atlassian account and does not affect their ability to log in to other Atlassian Cloud sites.

To exercise your right to erasure under Article 17 of the EU's General Data Protection Regulation, follow the instructions at Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure.

Manage service desk customer accounts

Where you manage your customers depends on what type of account they have:

  • Manage customers with Atlassian accounts in Site administration > User management.
  • Manage customers without Atlassian accounts in Site administration > User management > JIRA Service Desk > Portal only customers.

Check out Manage Jira Service Desk customer accounts for more information. 

Last modified on Apr 19, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.