Managing global permissions

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Global permissions are system-wide and are granted to groups of users. You can refer to project permissions to manage permissions that apply to individual projects.

To change global permissions, you must be a site admin or a Jira admin.

Access global permissions

  1. Choose the Jira icon (, or ) > Jira settings > System.
  2. Click Global Permissions.

Here are the different global permissions and what users can do with them:

Global Permission

Explanation

Administer Jira

Create and administer projects, issue types, fields, workflows, and schemes for all projects. Users with this permission can perform most administration tasks, except managing users, importing and exporting data, and editing system email settings.

Users with the Administer Jira permission can log in at any time but may be restricted depending on their application access.

Site admins can grant this permission in user management.

Browse users and groups View and select users or groups from the user picker, and share issues. Users with this permission can see the names of all users and groups on your site. They can share issues and @mention people on issues.
Share dashboards and filters Share dashboards and filters with other users.
Manage group filter subscriptions Create and delete group filter subscriptions.
Make bulk changes

Modify collections of issues at once, including these operations:

  • Bulk edit
  • Bulk move
  • Bulk workflow transition
  • Bulk delete

Some bulk changes may be restricted by project-specific permissions.

Granting permission to make bulk changes may be risky. For example, in a Jira site where anybody can sign up and create issues, a user with this permission and the Add Comments project permission could comment on all accessible issues. It's difficult to undo bulk changes like these.

Create next-gen projects

Create projects separate from shared configurations and schemes. Next-gen projects don't affect existing projects or shared configurations like workflows, fields or permissions. Only licensed users can create next-gen projects.

Removing this permission does not delete existing next-gen projects.

Users with the Administer Jira permission can always create next-gen projects, even if that group is removed from this permission.

Grant global permissions to a group of users

You can grant the global permissions described above to user groups. Only site admins can manage groups of users. Read more about managing groups.

To grant global permission:

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find the Add Permission section.
  2. Select the permission you want to grant in the Permission dropdown.
  3. In the Group drop-down list, either:
    • select the group you want to grant the permission to
    • select Anyone to grant permission to users who aren't logged in.

If you grant permission to anyone to Browse users and groups, user and group names will be publicly available on the internet. If you give anyone permission to make bulk changes, anonymous users who are not logged in to Jira can make bulk changes for any issues they're permitted to view.

Revoke global permissions from a group of users

To revoke permissions for a group:

  1. Locate the global permission you want to remove for the group.
  2. Next to the group you want to remove that permission for, click Delete.


Troubleshoot permissions with the Jira admin helper

The Jira admin helper can help you find out why a user can or can't see a certain issue.

You must be a Jira admin to use the permission helper.

  1. Choose the Jira icon (, or ) > Jira settings > System.
  2. Under ADMIN HELPER, select Permission helper.
  3. Enter a username or leave blank for anonymous users.
  4. Add an issue key (for example, one the user can or can't see) and the permission to check.
  5. Click Submit.
Last modified on Aug 16, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.