Managing groups

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

When multiple users in your Atlassian Cloud site need the same permissions or restrictions, you can add the users to a group and then set permissions on the group.

To create, delete, and edit groups:

  1. Go to Application picker Site administration.
  2. Select Groups from the left side of the page.
  3. Do either of the following:
    • Choose > Create a group in the sidebar to create a new group.
    • Select a group to add or remove users, edit it, or delete it.

Keep in mind the following when working with groups:

  • When users are created, they're automatically added to a default group, depending on which products you use in your Atlassian Cloud service.
  • You can't add Jira Service Desk end users (i.e. those submitting service desk requests) to any groups.

Default groups and permissions in Atlassian Cloud

Products in Atlassian Cloud are set up with some default groups (and permissions assigned to those groups). Users are automatically placed in the '[product]-users' group when you give them application access to the corresponding product. The '[product]-users' group allows users to access the product with basic permissions. You can further restrict the users' access within a product by using the product's permissions.

(info) Depending on when you created your site, there might be slight differences in the default groups that exist in your instance.

In this product Default groups Default permissions
Site-wide groups users

For instances created before February 2014, this was the default group that new users were added to. In instances created after that date, all new users will be added to the '[product]-users' group for the product(s) they have access to instead of the 'users' group.

The default permissions granted to this group depend on the products you have in your service (for example, if you have Jira products only, the group permissions will include only the Jira product permissions).

In Jira products:

  • the 'Jira Users' and 'Bulk Change' global permissions.
    • 'Jira Users' allows users to log in to Jira
    • 'Bulk Change' allows users to bulk edit issues.
  • a member of the 'users' project role, which allows members to see all project issues (unless protected by a security level or a custom project permission scheme) and create new issues.

In Confluence:

  • the permission to create and view Confluence content for the project, create personal and global spaces

jira-developers

In Jira products:

  • the 'Browse Users', 'Create Shared Filter' and 'Manage Group Filter Subscriptions' global permissions in Jira.
  • a member of the 'Developers' project role, which allows members to edit, move, assign, be assigned, link, work on, resolve and close issues.

Typically, you add users who work on issues to this group. You can add users to this group from the Users page.

This group is named 'developers' in Jira instances created earlier than February 2014.


administrators

The default permissions granted to this group depend on the products you have (for example, if you have Jira products only, the group permissions will include only the Jira product permissions).

In Jira products:

  • the 'Jira Administrators' global permissions.
  • a member of the 'Administrators' project role, which allows members to edit project versions and manage project content (delete issues, comments, manage watchers).

In Confluence:

  • the 'Confluence Administrator' global permission

Users with this permission are considered site administrators for documentation and Support purposes, and they have access to all the products in the site.

Users in the 'administrators' group have product access to Jira products, and therefore, require a Jira license. If you have users in the 'administrators' group that you don't need/want to take up a Jira license, you can create a new group, such as 'confluence-admins,' that you can use for admins that don't require a Jira license.


site-admins

Site-admins are the users who manage a site. The following permissions are currently available to site-admins:

  • All permissions assigned to the 'administrators' group for the product(s) you have
  • Access to user management (ability to create new users, assign users to groups, grant product access, etc.)
  • Access to billing information.

Users with this permission are considered site administrators for documentation and Support purposes, and they have access to all the products in the site

Jira products

jira-users

The 'Jira Users' and 'Bulk Change' global permissions.

  • 'Jira Users' allows users to log in to Jira
  • 'Bulk Change' allows users to bulk edit issues.

A member of the 'Users' project role, which allows members to see all project issues (unless protected by a security level) and create new issues.

Confluence confluence-users

the permission to create and view Confluence content for the project, create personal and global spaces

Jira Service Desk

service-desk-agents

Jira Service Desk uses this group to manage license allocation. Users in this group count towards the Jira Service Desk license.

  • the 'Jira Service Desk agent access' global permission

In addition to these groups, there are two default groups that are used by Atlassian support staff. You can't edit these groups or add users to them:

  • confluence-administrators
  • system-administrators

The 'sysadmin' user from these groups can log into your site to provide support to you and to perform certain system maintenance tasks. This user automatically has full product access but does not count towards your license limit, no matter which groups it is placed in.

The account is only used by Atlassian. You may notice logins by this user even without having raised a support request. This is because certain types of system maintenance involve our automated systems performing tasks using this account.

Last modified on May 10, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.