Managing shared filters

A filter is a saved issue search. Jira users can create and manage their own filters and filter subscriptions.

A shared filter is a filter whose creator has shared that filter with other users. Jira administrators can change the ownership of any user's shared filter, which allows the shared filter to be edited and modified by its new owner.

Before you begin: For all of the following procedures, you must be logged in as a user with the Administer Jira global permission.

Changing the ownership of a shared filter

Before you make any changes, we recommend checking in with the shared filter's existing owner. 

  1. Choose the Jira icon ( or ) > Jira settings > System
  2. Click Shared Filters.
  3. Search for a filter or scroll through the full list.
  4. Next to the shared filter, click

     > Change owner.
  5. Search for the relevant user and click Change Owner.

Please note:

  • A shared filter can only be edited by the shared filter's owner. The owner of a shared filter can only modify that filter's shares and search criteria too.
  • You cannot change the ownership of a shared filter to a user who:
    • already has a shared filter with exactly the same name, or
    • does not have permission to view the shared filter.


Deleting a shared filter

Make sure to check in with the shared filter's owner before you delete it. 

  1. Choose the Jira icon ( or ) > Jira settings > System
  2. Click Shared Filters.
  3. Search for a filter or scroll through the full list.
  4. Next to the shared filter, click

     > Delete filter
  5. If you're happy to proceed, click Delete.
Last modified on Jan 23, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.