Delete an account

Delete your user account

You can delete your account when you no longer need to use Atlassian account services, including sites and products. When you do, you’ll immediately lose access to Bitbucket and all other Atlassian account services, and we’ll stop billing your organization for your account.

We’ll also delete your personal data from Atlassian account services, and you won’t be able to reactivate your account

What's deleted

When you delete your account, we’ll permanently delete your personal data from all Atlassian account services. 

The following data is also deleted from Bitbucket:

  • Username

  • Language setting

  • Website you add to your Bitbucket Cloud settings profile

  • Websites which are sourced or rendered from a Bitbucket Cloud repository you own

  • All Bitbucket Cloud repositories you own

  • All Bitbucket Cloud snippets you own

  • All issue tracking in repositories you own

  • All wiki content in repositories you own

  • All comments in any repository, wiki, or issue tracker you own

  • Email aliases you have set in any repositories you own

Before you delete your account, we recommend transferring ownership of any teams or repositories for which you are the administrator so they are not left without an admin. Learn more.

What’s not deleted

To preserve Git authorship and other records, we won't automatically delete the following:

  • Any teams (and repositories or snippets owned by these teams) for which you are the last remaining admin.

  • Snippets you created which are owned by a team.

  • Comments you've made in repositories you don't own, but the reference to your Bitbucket Cloud username is changed to ‘Former user’.

  • Commits you've made in repositories you don't own, but there is no longer a link to your user profile; although, your email address is retained within these commits (due to the nature of Git and Mercurial).

  • Issues and issue comments you've made in issue trackers you don't own, but the reference to your Bitbucket Cloud username is changed to ‘Former user’.

Once an account has been deleted, both the account and the personal data in it are gone forever.

Before we permanently delete your account, you’ll have a 14-day grace period, during which the account will appear as temporarily deactivated. You have until the grace period is over to cancel the account deletion.

How you’ll appear

This is what you’ll look like to other Bitbucket users once you delete your account:


Deactivate or delete managed accounts

Organization admins can delete or deactivate accounts they manage for users who no longer need to use Atlassian account services, including sites and products. When their accounts are deleted or deactivated, users immediately lose access to Bitbucket and all other Atlassian account services, and we’ll stop billing for their account. 

  • If an organization admin deactivates a user’s account, the user’s personal data will remain in Atlassian account services, and the admin can reactivate their account at any time.

  • If an organization admin deletes a user’s account, we’ll delete the user’s personal data from Atlassian account services, and no one will be able to reactivate their account.

An organization admin can delete a previously deactivated account if they decide to later.

What's deleted

When an account is deleted, we’ll permanently delete the personal data stored in that account from all Atlassian account services.

The following data is also deleted from Bitbucket:

  • Username

  • Language setting

  • Website the user added to their Bitbucket Cloud settings profile

  • Websites which are sourced or rendered from a Bitbucket Cloud repository the user owned

  • All Bitbucket Cloud repositories the user owned

  • All Bitbucket Cloud snippets the user owned

  • All issue tracking in repositories the user owned

  • All wiki content in repositories the user owned

  • All comments in any repository, wiki, or issue tracker the user owned

  • Email aliases they have set in any repositories the user owned

Before you delete a user’s account, we recommend contacting the current admin to transfer ownership, if possible. If the user is no longer with your organization, we recommend transferring ownership of any teams or repositories for which they are the administrator so the teams or repositories are not left without an admin. Learn more.

What’s not deleted

To preserve Git authorship and other records, we won't automatically delete the following:

  • Any teams (and repositories or snippets owned by these teams) for which the user was the last remaining admin.

  • Snippets the user created which are owned by a team.

  • Comments a user’s made in repositories they don't own, but the reference to their Bitbucket Cloud username is changed to ‘Former user’.

  • Commits a user’s made in repositories they don't own, but there is no longer a link to their user profile; although, their email address is retained within these commits (due to the nature of Git and Mercurial).

  • Issues and issue comments a user’s made in issue trackers they don't own, but the reference to their Bitbucket Cloud username is changed to ‘Former user’.

Once an account has been deleted, both the account and the personal data in it are gone forever.

Before we permanently delete the account, you’ll have a 14-day grace period, during which the account will appear as temporarily deactivated. You have until the grace period is over to cancel the account deletion.

How they’ll appear

This is what the deleted user will look like to other Bitbucket users once their account is deleted:



Last modified on Jan 24, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.