Grant users and groups access

Repository administrators can grant users or groups access to a repository using the Access management page.  Administrators can assign a user or a group any of the following default permissions:

Level This permissions allows a user to do the following:
read View, clone, and fork the repository code. All public repositories grant all Bitbucket Cloud users read permissions automatically. Read access on a repository also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.
write Contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly from a repository on a local machine.
admin Can do everything a repository owner can do. This means administrators can:
  • Change repository settings.
  • Add, change, and remove user permissions.
  • Give other users administrator access.
  • Delete the repository.

You can always change these permissions later.

Granting a User Access to a Repository

To grant a user access to the repository, do the following:

  1. Go to the repository settings  for the Bitbucket repository.
  2. Click Access Management on the left-side navigation.
  3. Locate the Users section of the page for a current list of users with access.
  4. Enter a Bitbucket account name or full name in the text box.
  5. Select a permission from the dropdown box.
  6. Click Add.
Can I add a Team?

You cannot add a team to your repository directly. You can either Change or transfer repository ownership or create a new group and add the specific users you want to that group.

Sending an Invitation

If you want to grant access to a person who does not have a Bitbucket account, you can send an invitation. To do this from the Access Management page:

  1. Locate the invitation link right below the Users list.
  2. Click the link.
    The system displays the Send an invitation dialog:
  3. Enter an email address.
  4. Select what type of Access to grant.
  5. Press Send.
    Bitbucket sends an email to the addressee with an email to contribute to your repo.

    If the addressee does not have a Bitbucket account, then Bitbucket prompts him or her to create one.  Once the addressee has an account, Bitbucket adds the account to the repository with the access you chose when you created the invitation.

To change or delete a user's access

Each user entry on the list has controls for changing a user's level of access and for removing the user all together:

If a user delete his or her account, Bitbucket automatically deletes that user from all repository access lists.

Granting a Group Access to a Repository

You can only add groups to a repository if you own the group (individual account) or administer the group for a team.  Groups consist of one or more members all of which must have a Bitbucket individual account. To add groups, you go to the Account page for an  individual or team account.

  1. Log in to Bitbucket.
  2. Go to a repository for which you have administrative rights (or create a new one).
  3. Click the repository's setttings button.
  4. Choose Access management from the navigation bar.
  5. Add a group from the Select a group drop down.
    The list contains all the groups you have access to either through your individual account or through a team.

Changing Group Permissions 

Bitbucket allows account administrators to grant access to repositories by adding Groups.  When a repository is added to the account, Bitbucket automatically adds any account-level groups that have repository permissions. This means the groups that appear on repository's Access management page may come via the account-level Groups or directly by adding them at the repository-level.  

When a group is added to a repository, either automatically by Bitbucket or manually by a repository administrator, the group has the default permissions defined at the account-level.  Repository administrator's can change group permissions at the repository level or they can remove the group all-together; These are called repository-level permissions.   Once you establish repository-level permissions for a group, these repository-level permissions remain in effect, no matter if account administrators later change the permissions on the account-level.

If account administrators remove a group, the group is removed from every repository to which it has access.  For more information on creating and removing groups, see Manage groups.

How Repository Access Impact Plans and Billing 

What happens when the maximum number of users for an account is exceeded because you have granted repository permissions to a group? If the user count goes over the plan limit for your account, then access becomes read only for all your private repositories. The repository owner and creator still has write access to each repository, and administrators can still administer the repository.

Account owners or repository administrator remove excess users and groups from the account or from its repositories. For more information, see Plans and billing.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport