Organize your team into user groups

User groups help you organize your team into groups of developer feature teams or by roles. These groups allow you to manage access to your team's repositories and settings.

I just created a team.

When you create a team, Bitbucket automatically creates an Administrators group and a Developers group. The users in the Administrators group are whoever you specified as an admin during team creation. By default, all team members are in the Developers group.

Types of group permissions

A user group has two different types of permissions: default repository access and team update permissions.

Repository access

These permissions specify the group's access to a repository:

Admin Allows users to do everything a repository owner can do: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.
Write Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.
Read Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.
None Prevents those users from seeing anything in the repository.

You can update a group's repository access permissions for future or existing repositories.

Team permissions

These permissions specify what the group's users can do with your team account:

Create repositories Allows team members to create new repositories for the team.
Administer team

Allows team members to update the team's settings and the settings of any team-owned repositories.

You can update a group permissions for the team.

Existing user groups

To find your team's user groups, select your team from your avatar in the bottom left or click View all teams for a full list. Click Settings, then select User groups. You'll see a list of the existing groups, similar to the following example.

  • A. Add member: Add a user to the team and to the group you select.
  • B. Groups: See the team's groups and click a group for the users and permissions part of that group.
  • C. Add group: Create a new group for the team.
  • D. Delete icon: Remove the group from Bitbucket.

When you delete a group, that group no longer has access to any repositories it previously had. As a result, all group members lose access too unless they're part of another group with access.

Click one of the user group links and you'll see the permissions, members, and repositories associated with that group. You can also add and remove users from here.

  • A. Edit button: Update the groups's default repository or team permissions. See the next two sections for more information.
  • B. Add user: Add a user to the group and team. Enter the username or email address in the text box under Members, and then click Add.
  • C. More options: Delete the group or update group access for the team's repositories.
  • D. Delete icon: Remove the user from the group. If the user isn't part of any other groups in the team, clicking x also removes the user from the team.

Your team account plan includes the group members, which means that if you add a user to a User group, that user becomes a member of your team. If an account goes over the plan limit, you must remove members from a group or remove access from individual repositories until the account is back within its plan limits. For information on repository access, see Grant access to team repositories.

Update a group's repository access permissions

You can change group access for future or existing repositories. When you update access for a group from the Edit button, all future repositories will have the new permissions but not existing repositories. As a result, if you want to change group permissions for everything, you need to do both sets of steps in this section.

For your team's future repositories:

  1. From User groups, click the name of the group you want to update.
  2. Click Edit in the top-right of the group's page.
  3. From the Default repository access dropdown, choose the permission you want.
  4. Click Save.

For your team's existing repositories:

  1. From User groups, click the name of the group you want to update.
  2. Click More in the top-right of the group's page, and choose Update repository access.
  3. By default, Repositories this group can currently access is selected. Keep it this way if you just want to update repositories that group has access to. You can also add this group to all existing repositories the team owns by selecting All repositories that <your_team> owns.
  4. Select the new permission from the Access list.
  5. Click Update.

Update a group's team permissions

Team permissions give users the ability to update team settings or create team repositories.

  1. From User groups, click the name of the group you want to update.
  2. Click Edit in the top right corner of the group's page.
  3. From the Team Permissions option, select the checkboxes for Create repositories or Administer team to give or take away these permissions for this group.
  4. Click Save.

New user groups

When you create a group, you specify the type of permissions you want to give group members for the team and for newly created repositories.

From the User groups page, click Add group. Update the fields on the screen and click Add to save the group.

Field Description
A. Name

Describes the type of users this group will include.

B. Default repository access

Specifies the group's default access when the team has a new repository:
  • Admin – Allows users to do everything a repository owner can do: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.
  • Write – Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.
  • Read – Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.
  • None – Prevents those users from seeing anything in the repository.
C. Team permissions Specifies what the group's users can do with the team account:
  • Create repositories – Allows team members to create new repositories for the team.
  • Administer team – Allows team members to update the team's settings and the settings of any team-owned repositories.
D. Admin notifications (If this group has admin access) Specifies whether the groups's users will receive team notifications. You'll only be able to select this option if you also selected the Administer team permission.

When you click Add, the page for that group opens so that you can add users. Enter their username or email address and click Add. If you enter the email address of a non-user, that person receives an invitation to create an Atlassian account and join the team.

After you create a group, click Edit to update group permissions.

Example: Create a group for contractors

Let's say you want to provide Read access to all of your repositories for external contractors. When you create a Contractors group, the Add group dialog would look something like this:

From the Contractors group page, your permissions would look like this:

Example: Distinguish between repository and team permissions

You can allow users to create repositories for the team without giving them any sort of admin permissions. To do this, set Team permissions to Create repositories while their Default repository access is set to Write. Users in this group cannot administer the team account, but they can create repositories for the team.

Last modified on May 8, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.