We’re changing G Suite settings and giving you a free upgrade for 6 months

We know G Suite is one of the most popular ways to administer users across your company, which is why we improved how you manage G Suite in your organization. These improvements include making user management more secure and more automated, so you have less work to do.

These new G Suite settings are included with a subscription to Atlassian Access. We’re giving you a free 6-month trial to Atlassian Access to try out the settings.

Before making these improvements, we heard about these issues:

  1. When adding users to a group, you had to sync groups manually between G Suite and Atlassian 

  2. When employees leave, you had to deactivate access manually in G Suite and in Atlassian

  3. There’s no easy way to test logging into an account or excluding users from single sign-on

Changes to how you manage your G Suite settings

Starting from November 11 to November 25 we're rolling out these G Suite setting changes:

Manage your users at the organization level

Previous version

New version

You managed your settings at the site level, for each site

You’ll be able to find G Suite at the organization level and take advantage of improved usability and security.

In order to change sync settings, you disconnected your G Suite account, made your changes, and reconnected

You lost all your original settings in the process

You disable and enable sync for your organization to change settings without needing to disconnect

You save all your original settings

You synced users in a group from G Suite over to Atlassian, but the group would not get synced

You sync both users and the group over to Atlassian

If you’re not an organization admin, reach out to one and ask them to make you into an organization admin. One way to find an organization admin is on the User Management > Users page.


Sync your groups when you have more than one site

Previous version

New version

Up until now, we only ever synced groups to one site

Now you can sync groups from G Suite to your organization, and the groups will sync to all your sites

Give new users access to products

Previous version

New version

Up until now, when you synced a new user to Atlassian, we automatically granted them access to Atlassian products (e.g., Jira, Confluence)

We changed this to give you more control over which users get to use what products. After the sync, you add the group and its new users to one or multiple products


Here are the other changes

Previous version

New version

You remove a user from G Suite and the user’s site access would get revoked

You delete/suspend in G Suite and we automatically deactivate Atlassian user accounts

We emailed the same instructions to all new users

You add personal instructions to new user email invites

You enforce users to log in with G Suite

Give users a choice about how they log in or
enforce secure user log in with G Suite

Atlassian Access boosts G Suite

Basic G Suite settings will still be free. But for more user management and security, you can subscribe to Atlassian Access.

In the new G Suite, some of the organization settings are only available with a subscription to Atlassian Access. For details about what’s included with and without a subscription to Atlassian Access, visit the G Suite set up page.

We’re giving you a 6-month subscription to Atlassian Access so you can try out the new G Suite settings.

Learn more about G Suite settings with and without Atlassian Access.

What you get with Atlassian Access other than the new G Suite settings

You get more ways to centralize security and governance across your organization.

  • Organization audit log - Comprehensive log of the activity that takes place in Atlassian cloud tools so you can track your organization's product activity.

  • Organization insights - Track the adoption of Atlassian products and evaluate your users' security posture.

  • Revoke users' API tokens - View and, if necessary, revoke the use of API tokens by their managed accounts.

Learn more about Atlassian Access

Your options after the free trial ends

Starting from November 11, we'll begin updating all organizations with G Suite connections.

At the end of the 6-month free trial, you need to decide either to continue and start paying for a subscription to Atlassian Access or switch to the free version of G Suite. Here’s a summary of your options:

Keep using the Atlassian Access version of G Suite settings

You need to subscribe to Atlassian Access to keep your G Suite settings. Learn more about pricing

Stop using Atlassian Access version of G Suite settings

You don’t have do anything if you want to use the free version of G Suite because we automatically switch you.

Take me to G Suite documentation

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.