A guide to decide between free and paid versions of G Suite

There’s a lot of factors that go into picking the right version of G Suite for your Atlassian organization. We want to help you navigate these factors. We’ve put together a side-by-side comparison of the settings in free and paid versions of G Suite to help you decide what's right for your organization.

Compare settings in free and paid versions of G Suite integration


Settings

Free version of G Suite integration

Without Atlassian Access

Paid version of G Suite integration

With Atlassian Access

Update sync status

Enable and disable syncing

Personalize email invites

Add a personal message in an email to new users

Disconnect G Suite account

When you disconnect, we don't save any of your G Suite settings. You can start syncing your users again by setting up another connection to G Suite.

Select users to sync

Sync all users to one group

Sync all users to one group

Sync specific groups with their users

Deactivate accounts

Manually deactivate accounts in your organization that you suspend, archive, or delete in your G Suite

Automatically deactivate accounts in your organization that you suspend, archive, or delete in your G Suite

User login

Users have a choice about how they log in, either with Google or with Atlassian

You have a choice to require users to log in only with Google

What you need to do if you pick the free version of G Suite

If you pick the free version of G Suite which has fewer settings, you’ll have to change how you sync groups and users, deactivate accounts and manage user login for your organization. 

1. Sync all users to one group

If you set up specific groups to sync from G Suite to your organization, and now you’re going to sync all users to one group, here's what will happen.

We will pause user sync so you can confirm your new sync settings

To continue syncing from G Suite to your Atlassian organization, check the users you'll sync to one group, as this may increase your product cost.

After you enable sync, you can manage your cost by revoking product access for the All users from G Suite group and then creating groups with product access and adding users to them.

To revoke product access for all users in the group:

  1. From your organization’s admin, go to Products

  2. From the 3 dot ellipsis, select Manage product access

  3. If the All users from G Suite group is listed, select > Remove group

Working with groups you previously synced from G Suite to your organization
  • Your groups will stop syncing, but the users will continue to sync to one group in your organization

  • The groups will remain in your organization. You just can’t change the membership in a group you previously synced

  • New groups you create won’t sync to your organization

  • You can delete a group you previously synced

Working with one group to sync from G Suite to your organization
  • New users you create are synced to one group in your organization

  • You can create groups in your organization to give product access to users (these groups are not synced from your G Suite)

2. Deactivate your user accounts

When you suspend, archive, or delete accounts in your G Suite, you need to deactivate the account manually in your organization. Accounts you deactivated during your Atlassian Access trial will remain deactivated.

3. User login

If you required your end-users to log in with Google, your end-users would now have a different login experience.

We won’t automatically redirect users to log in with Google. Your users will have the choice to log in with either Google or Atlassian. We recommend you let your users know about the change.

Learn more about the new G Suite settings

What's next

If you decide not to subscribe, we’ll automatically switch you to the free version of G Suite. If you want to keep using the Atlassian Access version of G Suite settings, you need to subscribe to Atlassian Access. Learn more about pricing


Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.