Convert or delete Google Apps users

This page is relevant for admins without group-based syncing enabled. (See: Do I have group-based sync enabled?). With group-based syncing enabled, admins wishing to:

  • remove a user, should delete them from Google Apps
  • deactivate a user, should suspend them in Google Apps
  • revoke a user’s access to Atlassian Cloud, should remove them from whichever group is synced

 

 

Once you've set up Google Apps integration, you can manage your user base by converting users to external users or deleting them completely.

  • Converting users to external users allows users to continue to access your site; however, they no longer are part of your Google Apps domain. For example, you might need to convert a Google Apps user to an external if he or she becomes a contractor.
  • Deleting users prevents users from logging into your site. Deleted users don't count toward your user license limit. You usually need to delete users if they leave your company or move to a different role that doesn't require them to access your site.

On this page:

Convert Google Apps users to manually invited users

Before you start, note the groups that the user is assigned to. You can do this by selecting 

 >  User management
 s elect the user and then write down the groups listed under the  Groups  column.

  1. In your Google domain, suspend the user
    The next time Google Apps is synced with Atlassian Cloud, the user is deactivated.
  2. Manually reactivate the user as a manually invited user by re-assigning the user to the groups from which the user account was removed. To do this: 
    1. In Atlassian Cloud, go to 
       >  User management
       > Users
    2. Select the user by clicking their username
    3. Choose Add group
    4. Search for and select the groups you want to add the user to
    5. Choose Add group
  3. Choose Edit to update the user's email address in Atlassian Cloud to change it from your Google domain
    (info) As it's impossible for Atlassian Cloud to retrieve a user's Google password, you'll need to either reset their password via the admin console or have them reset it when logging in by clicking Unable to access your account?.

Delete Google Apps users

Use the Google Apps domain administration pages to delete users. The next time Google Apps syncs with your site, the user's access will be revoked.

If you want to revoke the user's access immediately, remove the user's application access and group memberships in your site after deleting the user from Google Apps.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport