Data storage FAQ
On this page, we answer some commonly asked questions about your data in Atlassian Cloud.
Are there limits on the amount of data?
See the Atlassian Cloud storage policy.
Where is data stored?
See the Atlassian Cloud security statement.
How often is data backed up?
Automated Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) backups are generated daily and retained for 30 days to allow for point-in-time data restoration. Snapshots of the primary RDS are also taken daily. Copies of the snapshot are sent to a secondary region, where they're kept for 30 days before being deleted. Snapshots and backups are not encrypted.
Atlassian Cloud sites does not support the use of backup data to roll back changes.
If you need to make an offline backup, check out the following documentation:
What security procedures are in place to protect my data?
The connection to your site uses SSL during transit to secure and encrypt data. See the Atlassian Cloud security statement.
What happens if I miss payment for my Atlassian Cloud subscription?
If payment for your monthly subscription fails, your site will be deactivated after 15 days (for evaluation sites) or 60 days (for paid subscription sites). If you have a monthly paid subscription that includes Stride, your Stride subscription will be downgraded to the free pricing tier.
If payment for your annual subscription fails, your site will be deactivated after 17 days (for both evaluation and paid subscription sites). Data for deactivated annual evaluations will be deleted after 15 days, while data for deactivated annual paid subscriptions will be deleted after 60 days.
Please read the next question for more information on what happens after sites are deactivated.
What happens if I want to delete my site?
If you cancel your Atlassian Cloud subscription, the system image and the data stored in it will be deleted after 15 days (for evaluation sites) or 60 days (for paid subscription sites).
The following events occur during the account cancellation process:
- Subscription canceled: Your site remains active until the end of your final subscription period (also known as the site expiration date).
- Site deactivated: For monthly subscriptions, your site is deactivated 15 days after the expiration date. For annual subscriptions, your site is deactivated 17 days after the expiration date.
- Site data retained: Once your site is deactivated, Atlassian retains your image and its data for 15 days (for evaluation sites) or 60 days (for paid subscription sites). During this time, you can have your site reactivated by paying for a new subscription.
- Site data deleted: Once this data retention period – 15 days (for evaluation sites) or 60 days (for paid subscription sites) after your site is deactivated – has passed, Atlassian deletes the system image and all of its data. Your site data cannot be recovered after it's deleted.
Atlassian won't delete any of your data stored in the Google Apps Marketplace, such as users or information in your Google Apps database, Google Docs, Gmail messages, Google Calendar entries, Google Chat, or Google Sites.
As noted above, your data is retained for 15 days (for evaluation sites) or 60 days (for paid subscription sites) after deactivation. After that time, Atlassian deletes the system image and all of its data. Once this is done, site data cannot be recovered.
Data for individual products that have been deactivated will not be retained and will be deleted immediately. See What happens if I deactivate one of my products below for more details.
Once your site is deactivated, Atlassian will retain your image and its data for 15 days (for evaluation sites) and 60 days (for paid subscription sites). During this time, you can have your site reactivated by paying for a new subscription.
What happens if I deactivate one of my products?
If a single product from an Atlassian Cloud site with multiple products becomes inactive either through an expired evaluation or intentional deactivation—for example, you disable Jira Software from a site with Jira Software and Confluence—then all data associated with that product is deleted immediately. Reactivating the product will not recover the data, and we can't recover your data from backups. We strongly recommend creating a Confluence site backup or Jira site backup.