Delete your Atlassian account

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

This page explains how to delete your own Atlassian account. If you're an organization admin looking for how to delete an account that your organization manages, see Delete a managed account.

Deleting an account is permanent. Once your Atlassian account is permanently deleted, you can’t restore your account. Before we permanently delete your account, you’ll have a 14-day grace period, during which the account will appear as temporarily deactivated. You have until the grace period is over to cancel the deletion.

Details about account deletion

If your account has been around for a while, you may have access to multiple sites and products, and your personal data may be in multiple places. This section includes details about where personal data is deleted from, what personal data is deleted, and what personal data isn’t deleted. You’ll also get similar information when you’re about to delete the account.

We’ll delete your personal data from Atlassian account services within 30 days, except in a few cases where required for legitimate business or legal purposes. Some examples include:

  • Information related to purchases, which we’re required to keep for financial reporting.

  • Records showing that we deleted your account, which we may need to provide to regulators.

  • Data that’s part of an active lawsuit, which we’re required to keep by law.

You have the right to submit complaints to the supervisory authority in your country.

Where personal data is deleted from

Personal data is deleted from all Atlassian account services. Atlassian account services include the following:

  • Jira Cloud

  • Confluence Cloud

  • Bitbucket Cloud

  • All sites you use to access these products

  • Other Atlassian account services, such as Community, Marketplace, and support. This means that you won’t be able to raise technical support tickets at support.atlassian.com, access your profile at my.atlassian.com, or post at community.atlassian.com.

Deleting your Atlassian account doesn’t delete your Trello and Statuspage accounts. If you want to delete a Trello account, see deleting a Trello account. If you want to delete a Statuspage account, email Statuspage support at hi@statuspage.io.

What’s deleted

We’ll delete the following personal data stored in an Atlassian account from all Atlassian account services:

  • Full name

  • Public name

  • Job title

  • Department

  • Organization

  • Location

  • Time zone

  • Email address

  • Atlassian profile picture

For information on additional data, if any, deleted from products, see the documentation on account deletion in Confluence Cloud, Jira Cloud, and Bitbucket Cloud.

What’s not deleted

The following data is not deleted:

  • Content you created in Atlassian account services. For example, pages, issues, and comments you created in products. For full lists of content that’s not deleted in these products, see the documentation on account deletion in Confluence CloudJira Cloud, and Bitbucket Cloud.

  • Any personal data in content you or someone else created, such as names or email addresses typed into a page or issue. Product admins must delete this content manually.

  • Your profile information that might have been stored in Marketplace and custom apps installed in products. See Marketplace and custom apps for more details.

Delete the account

Deleting an account is permanent. After you delete your Atlassian account, we’ll give you a 14-day grace period, during which you can cancel the deletion.

To delete an account:

  1. Log in to your Manage your account pages at https://id.atlassian.com/manage-profile.

  2. From the Delete account tab, click the Delete account button.

  3. Before you delete the account, read what happens to the deleted account carefully. Refer to the details about account deletion above.

  4. Click Delete account. From the confirmation dialog that appears, confirm that you want to delete your account. If you get some warnings, you may need to take care of these issues before you can go back to deleting the account.

Once you confirm the deletion, we’ll log you out and you’ll land on a confirmation screen. Your account is now scheduled for deletion and deactivated.

Account appearance after deletion

During the grace period when the account is deactivated, other users will still see your name in product (e.g., next to your avatar) along with a Deactivated lozenge.

When your account is permanently deleted, Former user will appear in place of your name and the lozenge updates to Deleted.

Marketplace and custom apps

When you schedule your account for deletion, you’ll get a confirmation email.

The email will include a list of Marketplace and custom apps that may have stored your profile information. You or other users may have installed these apps to add features to Atlassian products, and the apps may have stored your profile information.

Marketplace apps were created by third-party vendors to add extra functionality to your products. To find out whether a Marketplace app stored your profile information, click the Marketplace listing link in the email and refer to the vendor privacy policy. You’ll need to ask the apps' owners to delete your data from them. Contact your Bitbucket Cloud admin for information on any apps installed from the Bitbucket Cloud marketplace.

You’ll also see a list of custom apps that were built for your products that may store your personal information. You’ll need to contact the site admin for each site that has a custom app to learn whether they store personal data and, if so, how to request deletion of the data.

Cancel an account deletion

If you’ve scheduled your account for deletion, you can cancel the deletion before the 14-day grace period is over.

To cancel a deletion:

  1. Try to log in to your account at https://id.atlassian.com/.

  2. You’ll get a screen with information about the status of your account and a button to cancel the deletion. Click Cancel deletion.

After you’ve canceled deletion, you’ll land in a service you could previously access. Your account is now fully restored and active and you can log in to all other services.


Last modified on Jun 20, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.