Purging Deleted Pages

When a user deletes a page from a Confluence space, the page is not permanently removed. Instead, Confluence places the deleted page into the 'Trash'. The page will remain in 'Trash' until a space administrator purges the page.

Purging deleted pages permanently clears them from 'Trash'.

You need to be a space administrator to purge deleted pages for a space.

To purge deleted pages:

  1. Go to the space and choose Space tools > Content Tools on the sidebar. 
  2. Choose Trash
  3. A list of deleted pages and blog posts for the space displays. Choose Purge for a specific page or Purge All to permanently clear all deleted pages and news items.

If your space is using the Documentation theme: 

  1. Choose Browse > Space Admin at the top of the screen.Note: The 'Space Admin' option appears only if you have space admin permissions for the space or you have System Administrator global permissions.
  2. Choose Trash from the space administration options
  3. A list of deleted pages and blog posts for the space displays. Choose Purge for a specific page or Purge All to permanently clear all deleted pages and news items.

(info) When the trash is purged, all attachments on purged pages are permanently removed as well.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport