User Status Updates

You can use your 'user status' to broadcast a short message, which other users can see on various activity streams in Confluence. These short messages could include:

  • A description about what you are working on.
  • A question you may want answered quickly.
  • A hyperlink that you share immediately with other users.
  • Any other message you may want to share quickly with other users.
  • Another person's Confluence username, in the format [~username], to send that person an email message about your status.

Your 'Status Updates' view shows a history of updates you have made to your status. Your latest status message is shown on the profile popup that appears when people hover over your username, and in various other places in Confluence.

Setting or updating your status

To set or update your status:

  1. Log in to Confluence.
  2. Choose your profile picture at top right of the screen, then choose Update Status. The 'What are you working on' dialog will open.
  3. Enter a short message (140 characters maximum) that describes your current status or what you are working on.
  4. Choose Update to publish your new or updated status.

Screenshot: User status 


Mentioning another person in your status update

You can include another person's Confluence username in your status update, using square brackets and the tilde sign in the format [~username]. Confluence will send that person an email message containing your status update. For example, let's assume another Confluence user has the username 'charlie'. You could put this message in your status update, and Charlie will receive an email message:

Enjoying all the blog posts that [~charlie] has written recently!

Note: Mentions in status updates do not appear as notifications in the Confluence workbox.

Viewing status updates

To view your status updates:

  • Choose your profile picture at top right of the screen, then choose Status Updates.

You can also view another user's status by going to their profile.

Screenshot: Status updates view


Clearing your current status

Clearing a message is not the same as deleting it. If you clear a message, it is still shown in your status updates view until it is deleted.

To clear your current status:

  1. Choose your profile picture at top right of the screen, then choose Status Updates.
  2. Choose Clear in the status message at the top of the page.

Screenshot: Clearing your current status message

Deleting a status update

To delete your current or a previous status message:

  1. Choose your profile picture at top right of the screen, then choose Status Updates.
  2. Choose Delete next to the appropriate status message. Your status updates view will be refreshed and the message you deleted will be removed from the list.

More about user status updates

There are a number of activity streams in Confluence that show different types of status updates. These include:

  • The 'Recently Updated' list on the Confluence Dashboard, which shows all status updates (when the All tab is selected).
  • Your Network page, which shows the status updates of Confluence users you are following.
  • The Network page of Confluence users who are following you, which shows your status updates.
  • The Recently Updated and Recently Updated Dashboard macros, which shows all status updates (provided that these macros' space parameters have been set to '@all').

Enabling and disabling status updates

The functionality is provided by a plugin called 'User Status'. To remove the status updates functionality from your site, you can disable the plugin. See Disabling or Enabling a Plugin.

You can also set the Confluence site permissions to determine which users can use status updates. By default, users will not have permission to use this feature. See Global Permissions Overview.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport