Disabling the Built-In User Management
In some circumstances you may want to disable Confluence's built in user management, and delegate all user management to an external application, such as Jira Software or Jira Service Desk. You can disable internal user management by turning on Confluence's External User Management setting. You'll need to be a system administrator to do this.
You might disable Confluence's internal user management:
- When Crowd's directory permissions are configured so that Confluence cannot update the Crowd directories (as a system error will occur when Confluence attempts to write data into Crowd). See Connecting to Crowd or Jira for User Management for more information.
- If you are using a Jira application for user management. This centralizes all user management in that Jira app. See Connecting to Crowd or Jira for User Management.
To disable management of users and groups within Confluence:
- > Security Configuration. > General Configuration
- Click Edit.
- Select the External user management checkbox then Save your change.
Note: If you turn on External user management:
- You will not be able to add users or groups in Confluence.
- You will not be able to edit user details (full name and email) of users in Confluence Internal Directory
- You will not be able to use public signup in your site.
- The Forgot Password link will not appear on the Confluence login page.
- Users will not be able to reset their password in Confluence.