Collaborative editing takes teamwork to the next level by letting you and your team work together in real time on software requirements, meeting notes, retros, and any other Confluence page. See who's editing the page with you, and see changes as they happen.
Changes save and sync automatically, so everyone editing sees the same thing. And, because we're saving all the time, there's no need to manually save. Publish now or keep the draft and publish it later—you're in control.
On this page:
So, what’s new with collaborative editing?
Work together with your team and see their changes in real time.
No more merge conflicts
Collaborative editing uses shared drafts. There's no need to merge, because you're all working on the same page.
No need to save. We’re on it
Changes are auto-saved as you make them, so now your only decision is when to publish.
Things you should know
Once on, it’s on for keeps
Collaborative editing makes some under-the-hood changes to your instance. If you choose to turn it on, you can’t turn it off after trying it.
(It'll be on for all Confluence Cloud sites pretty soon, anyway)
Limited content auditing
We don’t yet have the same auditing capabilities with collaborative editing. All page changes are currently attributed to the person that publishes the page, rather than the person who made each specific change.
Changes in drafts aren’t versioned
We’re saving all the time in collaborative editing, but we don’t save versions in a draft. When restoring an earlier page version, you can only roll back to published versions (the page draft is deleted when you restore a previous version).
Changes to drafts
It's fair to say that drafts are a somewhat misunderstood part of Confluence. Here's the skinny:
Previously, every time you edited a page but didn't save it, Confluence would create a draft of the page that was only visible to you—we call these personal drafts. A page that only you can view is obviously no good for collaborative editing.
Now that collaborative editing is here, Confluence creates a draft whenever anyone edits a page and doesn't publish their changes, and all page editors work on the same (shared) draft. Because everyone's working on the same draft, the stakes are a little higher when you want to discard a shared draft. You can still do it, but we'll warn you that you may also be discarding changes made by your teammates.
Was this helpful?
Thanks for your feedback!