Delete, restore, or purge a page

When you delete a Confluence page, it moves to the space's trash much like an email moves to your email trash or a file moves to the trash on your computer. The page isn't permanently deleted, and can be retrieved, until you purge the page from the trash. There's a few things you might want to attend to before you delete a page, like checking incoming links and child pages, and you can find all of these under the Page Information

On this page:


Delete a page

To delete a page:

Go to the page and choose Actions menu icon > Delete

(info) The Delete option will only appear if you have permission to delete this page. See Space permissions.

If someone has applied page restrictions to the page, these restrictions may also prevent you from deleting the page.


Deleting a draft, unpublished changes, or a page version?

Unlike deleting a published page, deleting any of these is permanent and they can't be restored.

  • To delete a draft or unpublished changes while editing a page, choose Actions menu icon > Delete unpublished page or Revert to last published version.
  • To delete a page version while viewing a page, choose Actions menu icon > Page History, find the version you want, and choose Delete.


Delete a page with children

If you delete a page that has any child pages, the child pages move up to the nearest parent page. If you want to keep the child pages under another parent, move them before deleting their former parent.


Screenshot: Warning when deleting a page with children


If you want to remove a parent page and a large number of child pages:

  1. Create a temporary new space
  2. Move the parent page to the new space (the child pages will move too)
  3. Delete the space


View Page Information

The Page Information is here to help you delete pages responsibly, letting you know who the last editors were, what incoming links you'll need to remove or redirect, and who has permissions for this page.

To see the information about the page:

  1. View the page.
  2. Choose Actions menu icon > Page Information

You'll see the following information:

  • Page details: Title, author, date of creation, date of last modification and the tiny link (permalink) of the page.
  • Page hierarchy: Parent-child relationships of the page.
  • Incoming links: Lists other pages in your Confluence site that have links to this page, or that reference this page in an Include Page or Excerpt Include macro. Deleting this page will break these links, so you might want to unlink or redirect these links.
  • Labels: Any labels (tags) that have been applied to this page.
  • Page Permissions: Displays page-level security restrictions that apply to the page (if present).
  • Recent Changes: Links to the five most recent versions of the page along with the name of the editor and the date of modification. 
  • Outgoing links: A summary of the links contained on this page, pointing to other pages on the Confluence site or to external websites.

(info) If a section has no information to report, it won't appear under Page Information.


Screenshot: Page Information


For space admins

Restore a deleted page

When you restore a Confluence page, it will be restored to the root of the space, not to its old location. This means that it sits at the same level in the page tree as your home page, so it won't be visible to anyone from the space sidebar. You can find this page by going to Space settings → content tools → reorder pages


To restore a deleted page:

  1. Choose Space settings in the sidebar (or the ), then choose Content tools
  2. Choose Content Tools > Trash
  3. Choose Restore for the page you wish to restore


If a new page has already been created in that space with the same name as the page you're restoring, you'll be given an option to rename the page before it's restored.

Purge deleted pages

To permanently get rid of a page, you need to purge it from the trash. That'll mean the page, and all its versions and attachments, are gone for good.

(info) Attachments of deleted pages remain in the database until the trash is purged, after which they're permanently deleted. This means that, before you purge any pages, you should check that the attachments on those pages aren't being used elsewhere. If you're not sure, move those attachments onto another page.


To purge deleted pages:

  1. Choose Space settings in the sidebar (or the ), then choose Content tools
  2. Choose Trash
  3. Choose Purge for a specific page or Purge All to permanently clear all deleted pages and news items
Last modified on Feb 7, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.