JIRA Software: Hierarchy

Jira Software Evaluator Resources

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community


What is the hierarchy level in a Jira Software project?




While Jira Software does not explicitly offer sub-projects, it is possible to structure your project in a way that it represents the hierarchy you need. Within Jira Software projects, you can add multiple epics, which can act as a "sub-project" that can be divided them into stories/tasks and sub-tasks.

The default hierarchy contains:

  • Epics - Once the higher level priorities are settled it's necessary to break them down into large pieces of work, which consist of multiple stories.
  • Stories/Tasks - User stories capture functionality requirements.
  • Sub-task - Work components that make up stories.

Although they are not hierarchy mechanisms, you can also complement the structure by using other grouping tools such as components or labels that allow you to easily find related issues.

If you need more hierarchical views, you should consider an app like Links HierarchyStructure, or others available in the Atlassian Marketplace.

Additional Information

The Atlassian app, Portfolio for Jira, offers the ability to create new, unlimited hierarchy levels as well as getting a 'big picture' view of your projects and tasks in Jira Software or Jira Core. 

To create new hierarchy levels in Portfolio for Jira:

You can create as many hierarchy levels as you want in Portfolio for JIRA by following these steps:

  1. Go to Portfolio> Administration > Portfolio Hierarchy Configuration and click + Create Level.
    Now you can see a list with all the levels names and it's JIRA issue type.
  2. Type in the name and map the new level to a JIRA issue type.
  3. You can remove the level by selecting Remove.
  4. Rearrange levels by dragging and dropping the tabs.

Click here to read more about configuring initiatives and other hierarchy levels.






Last modified on Nov 16, 2017

Was this helpful?

Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.