Documentation for Confluence 5.4.
Documentation for Confluence OnDemand and earlier versions of Confluence is available too.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

When a user deletes a page from a Confluence space, the page is not permanently removed. Instead, Confluence places the deleted page into the 'Trash'. The page will remain in 'Trash' until a space administrator purges the page.

Purging deleted pages permanently clears them from 'Trash'.

You need to be a space administrator to purge deleted pages for a space.

To purge deleted pages:

  1. Go to the space and choose Space tools > Content Tools on the sidebar. 
  2. Choose Trash
  3. A list of deleted pages and blog posts for the space displays. Choose Purge for a specific page or Purge All to permanently clear all deleted pages and news items.

If your space is using the Documentation theme: 

  1. Choose Browse > Space Admin at the top of the screen.
    Note: The 'Space Admin' option appears only if you are a space administrator for the space or you are a super user (a member of the confluence-administrators group).
  2. Choose Trash from the space administration options
  3. A list of deleted pages and blog posts for the space displays. Choose Purge for a specific page or Purge All to permanently clear all deleted pages and news items.

(info) When the trash is purged, all attachments on purged pages are permanently removed as well.

 

  • No labels

1 Comment

  1. If the page had any attachments, it seems users watching the space will be notified via email that you have deleted the attachment (on ver 4.3.7 at least). The email has no indication that the operation was a purge and that the page has already long since been deleted.

    Message is simply...

    <User performing the purge> removed a file from the page <Page being purged>

    To avoid confusion, I'd prefer if this message could be suppressed during a page purge operation.