Documentation for JIRA 4.0. Documentation for other versions of JIRA is available too.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

A JIRA group is a convenient way to manage a collection of users. Users can belong to many groups. Groups are used throughout JIRA; for example, they can:

* Project roles are somewhat similar to groups, the main difference being that group membership is global whereas project role membership is project-specific.

On this page:

JIRA's default groups

When you install JIRA, three groups are automatically created:

  • jira-administrators - typically contains people who are JIRA system administrators. By default, this group:
  • jira-developers - typically contains people who perform work on issues. By default, this group:
  • jira-users - typically contains every JIRA user in your system. By default, this group:

You can create and delete groups according to your organisation's requirements.

Icon

If you are using External User Management, you will not be able to create, delete or edit groups or group membership from within JIRA; and 'Automatic Group Membership' (see below) will not apply. However, you can still assign groups to project roles.

Viewing groups

To see what groups exist, and where they are used:

  1. Log in as a user with the 'JIRA Administrators' global permission.
  2. Bring up the administration page by clicking either the 'Administration' link on the top bar or the title of the Administration box on the dashboard.
  3. Select 'Group Browser' from the 'Users, Groups & Roles' section of the 'Administration' menu.
  4. You will then see a page containing the 'Group Browser' as shown below.
    Icon

    The 'Filter Group' form restricts the list of groups shown to those that match the 'Name Contains', with a specified maximum per page. Click the 'Filter' button to refresh the list with the restricting filter.

  5. To see which permission schemes, email notification schemes, issue security levels and saved filters are using this group, click the group name.

Adding a group

To create a group, enter the new group 'Name' in the 'Add Group' form in the 'Group Browser' (see 'Viewing groups' above) and click the 'Add Group' button.

Deleting a group

To delete a group, click the 'Delete' link for that group in the 'Group Browser' (see 'Viewing groups' above). The confirmation screen that follows explains that users will be removed from the group through its deletion. Be aware of the impact this may have on users in that group. For example, if that group membership was the sole conveyor of a permission for a user, then the user will no longer have that permission.

Icon

Before deleting a group it is recommended that you check whether the groups is being used by any permission schemes, email notification schemes, issue security levels or saved filters. See 'Viewing groups' (above).

Editing group membership

To edit a group's membership, click the 'Edit Members' link in the row for that group in the 'Group Browser' (see 'Viewing groups' above). This takes you to a form allowing you to add users to or remove them from the group.

Icon

If the group has the 'JIRA System Administrators' global permission, you cannot edit its membership unless you have the 'JIRA System Administrators' global permission.

Icon

If you have a user limited license (e.g. personal license) and have reached your user limit, you will not be able to assign any further users to groups with login permissions (i.e. jira-users permission) without first reducing the number of users with login permissions.

Automatic group membership

To automatically add newly-created users to a particular group, grant the group the 'JIRA Users' global permission.

To do this, navigate to the 'Administration' section and select 'Global Permissions' from the 'Global Settings' menu. Add the 'JIRA Users' permission to the relevant group, as described in 'Granting global permissions'.