Confluence Cloud: Right to erasure

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Under Article 17 of the GDPR, you have the right to have your personal data deleted. This is also known as the "right to be forgotten" or "right to erasure." It isn't an absolute right, and it only applies in certain circumstances and will vary on a case-by-case basis. These instructions show individual end-users and administrators how to remove personal data from certain Atlassian products. In some cases, you may need to consult your administrator to have certain personal data deleted.

This guide contains instructions for removing personal data from your Confluence profile, which is a sub-step in the Confluence Cloud: Right to erasure guide. It is not meant to serve as a standalone guide. To avoid complications, complete Step 1 of Confluence Cloud: Right to erasure before attempting the steps in this guide.

Personal data that appears in Confluence Cloud is stored in your Confluence Cloud profile, your Atlassian account, and the systems of the third-party vendors who supply the add-ons you use.

The following personal data appears in Confluence Cloud and can be removed:

  • Your full name

  • Your email address

  • Your nickname

  • Your job title

  • Your department

  • Your organization

  • Your location

  • Your time zone

  • Your website

  • Your IM handle

  • Your phone number

  • Your position

  • Your department

  • Your Atlassian profile picture

  • Your Confluence profile picture

To preserve institutional knowledge, project authorship and business records and to prevent confusion for other people who use your site, we won't automatically delete the following (but you or your administrator can do so on a case-by-case basis):

  • Your pages, blog posts, and comments, and files. For information on how to delete content you've created, see Delete, restore, or purge a page.
  • Personal data in free-form text. If you or someone else includes personal data, such as your name, email address, or phone number, in the text of a Confluence Cloud page, it will remain on Confluence Cloud until the page or your site is deleted. You can use the global search function within the product to locate specific personal data terms in free-form text and remove it using the edit tools where permitted. 

Though the personal data you remove will immediately disappear from the product UI, certain personal data may be retained for a limited period of time in backup files before being automatically deleted. Atlassian keeps these backup files for all sites, for a limited time, to prevent service interruptions and support data integrity. For information on how we store your data and how long we keep different kinds of information in our systems, please see our Privacy Policy and Trust at Atlassian.

Remove data from your Atlassian unified profile

Confluence Cloud customers should complete this step instead of Step 2 in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure. While the information that appears in your Atlassian unified profile is stored in the same system as the information that appears on id.atlassian.com, the unified profile contains additional data fields that don't appear on id.atlassian.com.

The following information is stored in your Atlassian unified profile:

  • Your full name
  • Your nickname
  • Your job title
  • Your department
  • Your organization
  • Your location
  • Your time zone
  • Your email address
  • Your Atlassian profile picture

Your email address can only be removed by a support engineer after your account has been deleted from your site (see Request removal of remaining data in Step 3 of Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure).

To remove the rest of your personal data:

  1. Log in to Confluence.
  2. Click your avatar, then select Profile.
  3. Click Edit profile.
  4. Replace your Full name with a pseudonym.
  5. Remove your data from the other fields, then click Save.

Remove data from your Confluence Cloud profile

If you joined Confluence before June 2018, you may have a separate Confluence profile in addition to your Atlassian unified profile. While the information in your Confluence profile isn't displayed anywhere anymore, it may still be stored in some Atlassian systems.

The following information is stored in your Confluence profile:

  • Your website
  • Your IM handle
  • Your phone number
  • Your position
  • Your department
  • Your location
  • Your Confluence profile picture

We're working to remove all existing Confluence profile data from our systems, but if you'd like to ensure that your data is deleted from all Atlassian systems when your account is deleted, update the support ticket you created in Step 1 of Confluence Cloud: Right to erasure with that request.

Remove data from third-party add-ons

Contact your Atlassian site administrator for guidance on removing your personal data from third-party add-ons (including apps, plugins, and integrations). 

Click here to see how (for site admins)...

Third-party apps may store personal data in their own systems. If you have third-party add-ons installed, you'll need to contact the providers to understand what personal data they access, transfer, or otherwise process, and how they'll support your company's GDPR compliance efforts.

For a list of vendors to contact:

  1. Open Confluence Cloud and select Settings from the sidebar.
  2. Select Manage add-ons (under Atlassian marketplace).
  3. Select User-installed from the menu to filter add-ons.

You'll see a list of add-ons that your users have installed in Confluence Cloud. Click on the name of an add-on for more information, including a link to the add-on's listing in the Atlassian marketplace.

To contact the vendor for an add-on:

  1. Go to the add-on's listing in the Atlassian marketplace.
  2. Click Support to find the vendor's contact information.
  3. Email the vendor or submit a support request.

The steps outlined in these instructions will only remove your personal data from a single Confluence Cloud site. To have your entire Atlassian account deleted, continue with Steps 3-5 in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure.


Last modified on Jul 11, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.