Jira Cloud: Right to erasure

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Under Article 17 of the GDPR, you have the right to have your personal data deleted. This is also known as the "right to be forgotten" or "right to erasure."  It isn't an absolute right, and it only applies in certain circumstances and will vary on a case-by-case basis. These instructions show individual end-users and administrators how to remove personal data from certain Atlassian products. In some cases, you may need to consult your administrator to have certain personal data deleted.

This guide contains instructions for removing personal data from your Jira Cloud profile, which is a sub-step in the Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure guide. It is not meant to serve as a standalone guide. To avoid complications, complete steps 1 of Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure before using this guide.

Personal data that appears in Jira Cloud is stored in your Jira Cloud profile, your Atlassian unified profile, and the systems of the third-party vendors who supply the add-ons you use.

The following personal data appears in Jira Cloud and can be removed:

  • Your full name
  • Your nickname

  • Your job title
  • Your department
  • Your organization
  • Your location
  • Your time zone
  • Your email address
  • Your Atlassian profile picture

Jira Service Desk Cloud external customers will need to contact a site admin to remove their profile information.

To preserve institutional knowledge, project authorship and business records and to prevent confusion for other people who use your site, we won't automatically delete the following (but you or your administrator can do so on a case-by-case basis): 

  • Your projects, issues, and comments. You can delete the projects and issues you've created yourself before you deactivate your account. For more information on deleting issues, see Editing multiple issues at the same time. For more information on deleting projects, Jira Cloud administrators can see Creating, editing, deleting, and hiding projects
  • Personal data in free-form text. If you or someone else includes personal data, such as your name, email address, or phone number, in a Jira Cloud project or issue field, it will remain in Jira Cloud until the project, issue, or your site is deleted. You can use the global search function within the product to locate specific personal data terms in free-form text and remove it using the edit tools where permitted. To manually edit and remove data from an issue and its history, edit the free-form text field, clone the issue, and then delete the issue. 

Though the personal data you remove will immediately disappear from the product UI, certain personal data may be retained for a limited period of time in backup files before being automatically deleted. Atlassian keeps these backup files for all sites, for a limited time, to prevent service interruptions and support data integrity. For information on how we store your data and how long we keep different kinds of information in our systems, please see our Privacy Policy and Trust at Atlassian

Remove data from your Atlassian unified profile

The following information is stored in your Atlassian unified profile:

  • Your full name
  • Your nickname
  • Your job title
  • Your department
  • Your organization
  • Your location
  • Your time zone
  • Your email address
  • Your Atlassian profile picture

Your email address can only be removed by a support engineer after your account has been deleted from your site (see Request removal of remaining data in Step 3 of Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure).

To remove the rest of your personal data:

  1. Log in to Jira Cloud.
  2. Click your avatar, then select Profile.
  3. Click Edit profile.
  4. Replace your full name with a pseudonym.
  5. Remove your data from the other fields, then click Save.

Remove data from your Jira Cloud profile

If you joined Jira Cloud before June 2018, you may have a separate Jira profile in addition to your Atlassian unified profile. While the information in your Jira profile isn't displayed anymore, the following may still be stored in some Atlassian systems.

  • Your email address
  • Your username (user key)

We're working to remove all existing Jira profile data from our systems, but if you'd like to ensure that your data is deleted from all Atlassian systems when your account is deleted, update the support ticket you created in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure with that request.

Remove data from third-party add-ons (apps)

Contact your Atlassian site administrators for guidance on removing your personal data from third-party add-ons (including apps, plugins, and integrations).

Click here to see how (for site admins)...

Third-party add-ons may store personal data in their own systems. If you have third-party add-ons installed, you'll need to contact the providers to understand what personal data they access, transfer, or otherwise process, and how they'll support your company's GDPR compliance efforts.

For a list of vendors to contact:

  1. Open Jira Cloud and select Settings from the sidebar.
  2. Select Manage add-ons (under Atlassian marketplace).
  3. Select User-installed from the menu to filter add-ons.


Click here to expand...

You'll see a list of add-ons that your users have installed in Jira Cloud. Click on the name of an add-on for more information, including a link to the add-on's listing in the Atlassian marketplace.

To contact the vendor for an add-on:

  1. Go to the add-on's listing in the Atlassian marketplace.
  2. Click Support to find the vendor's contact information.
  3. Email the vendor or submit a support request.

The steps outlined in these instructions will only remove your personal data from a single Jira Cloud site. To have your entire Atlassian account deleted, continue with steps 3-5 in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure.


Last modified on Nov 20, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.