Stride: Right to erasure

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Under Article 17 of the GDPR, you have the right to have your personal data deleted. This is also known as the "right to be forgotten" or "right to erasure." It isn't an absolute right, and it only applies in certain circumstances and will vary on a case-by-case basis. These instructions show individual end-users and administrators how to remove personal data from certain Atlassian products. In some cases, you may need to consult your administrator to have certain personal data deleted.

This guide contains instructions for removing personal data from your Stride profile, which is a sub-step in the Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure guide. It is not meant to serve as a standalone guide. To avoid complications, complete Steps 1-2 of Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure before attempting the steps in this guide.

Personal data that appears in Stride is stored in your Stride profile, your Atlassian account, and the systems of the third-party vendors who supply the apps you use.

The following personal data appears in Stride and can be removed:

  • Your full name*
  • Your position (job title)
  • Your email address
  • Your avatar 
  • Your nickname (mention name)*
  • Where you're based 
  • Your time zone
  • Your organization 
  • Your department

To preserve message history and business records and to prevent confusion for other people who use your Stride site, we won't delete the following:

  • Your messages and their content. For information on how to delete your messages, see Edit and delete messages
  • *Your name will continue to show next to Stride messages you've sent, even if you've deleted the messages. 
  • *Your nickname (mention name) will continue to show in Stride messages where you were mentioned.

Messages you've sent in Stride aren't removed. You can delete your Stride messages before you remove your personal data. 

Please be aware, though the personal data you remove will immediately disappear from the product UI, certain personal data may be retained for a limited period of time in backup files before being automatically deleted.  Atlassian keeps these backup files for all sites, for a limited time, to prevent service interruptions and support data integrity.  For information on how we store your data and how long we keep different kinds of information in our systems, please see our Privacy Policy and Trust at Atlassian.

Remove data from your Atlassian account

The following information is stored in your Atlassian account:

  • Your full name
  • Your email address
  • Your job title
  • Your organization
  • Your time zone
  • Your avatar

For instructions on how to remove personal data from your Atlassian account, see Step 2: Remove personal data in your Atlassian account in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure.

Verify changes have synced

Review your Stride profile to make sure that the changes you made to your Atlassian account settings are reflected there.

  1. Log in to Stride.
  2. Click  to see your settings.
  3. Click the Profile tab.
  4. Verify that your real name has been replaced by the pseudonym you chose.

Note that avatars can take 24 hours to sync in Stride after you've removed them from your Atlassian account.

If your personal data still appears in your Stride profile, submit a support request before you ask an admin to deactivate your account.

Remove data from your Stride profile

The following information is stored in your Stride profile:

  • Your nickname (your mention name)
  • Where you're based 
  • Your department

To remove personal data from your Stride profile:

  1. Log in to Stride.
  2. Click  to see your settings.
  3. Click the Profile tab.
  4. Click Edit Profile.
  5. Remove (or replace with non-identifying data) your information from these fields:
    1. Nickname
    2. Based in
    3. Department
    4. Other fields that haven't synced from your Atlassian account
  6. Click Save.

Remove data from third-party apps

Third-party apps may store personal data in their own systems. If you have third-party apps installed, you'll need to contact the providers to understand what personal data they access, transfer, or otherwise process, and how they'll support your removal efforts.

Contact Atlassian Stride Support for guidance on obtaining the list of third-party apps installed in the Stride sites to which you belong.

To contact the vendor for an app:

  1. Go to the app's listing in the Atlassian marketplace.
  2. Click Support to find the vendor's contact information.
  3. Email the vendor or submit a support request.


The steps outlined in these instructions will only remove your personal data from a single Stride site. To have your entire Atlassian account deleted, continue with Steps 4-5 in Atlassian Cloud: Right to erasure.


Last modified on May 24, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.