Delete messages and files

Regret that message or file you shared or, maybe, an answer you sent in a message was wrong? You can delete messages you wrote and files you shared in Hipchat. 

(It's possible for your administrator to turn off your ability to delete messages and files. Then, only the admin can do it for you because admins can delete any message or file shared in any room.) 

Messages and files are permanently deleted

Make sure you really want to delete the messages and files. Once you delete them, they're deleted permanently. They cannot be restored.

This page

Deleting messages and files in rooms

  1.  Log in to Hipchat in your browser (https://example.hipchat.com/home) and go to the Rooms tab.
  2. Find and click the name of the room in which you want to delete your message or file.
  3. Click History in the left menu bar.
  4. Search or browse for the message or file you want to delete.
  5. Click View above the message or file you intend to delete.
  6. Hover over the message or file, then click  on the left.

Note: Messages or files are not immediately removed from the view of people who have already joined the room. The next time they sign in, they will no longer see the message.

Deleting messages and files shared in 1-to-1 chats

  1. Log in to Hipchat in your browser (https://example.hipchat.com/home) and go to the People tab.
  2. Click the name of the person with whom you've had 1-to-1 chats.
  3. Click View your chat history with (their name).
  4. Search or browse for the message or file you want to delete.
  5. Hover over the message or file, then click  on the left.

Note: Messages or files are not immediately removed from the view of the person if they have a 1-to-1 chat open with you. After they leave and join the chat again, they will no longer see the message.

Last modified on May 21, 2018

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.