Users are not added to the default group
Platform Notice: Server and Data Center Only - This article only applies to Atlassian products on the server and data center platforms.
When setting up a Delegated LDAP directory, or a Read Only with Local Groups, we can define a list of groups that users will automatically be added to when they first log in. However, if a user is removed from a default group, it won't be added automatically again. That's because Jira stores in the database which user has already been added once to a default group.
Jira Server or Data Center
Affected users can be confirmed using the following SQL query:
SELECT * FROM cwd_user_attributes WHERE attribute_name = 'autoGroupsAdded' AND attribute_value = 'true';
The results include only affected users.
This is expected behavior if user is a user has been removed from a default group.
Remember to backup your database before performing any changes.
- Stop Jira on all nodes
- To have users added to the default groups when they log in once again, run the following query against the Jira database:
DELETE FROM cwd_user_attributes WHERE attribute_name = 'autoGroupsAdded' AND attribute_value = 'true';
- Start Jira on each node