- The author of the content receives a notification.
- People in your network receive a notification. They will receive the notification only if they do not already know about the content. Let's assume Arthur is in your network. Arthur will not receive a notification if:
- Someone else in his network has already liked the content.
- Arthur himself has already liked the content.
- Arthur has already commented on it.
- In the case of a threaded comment, Arthur has already replied to the comment.
- If enough people like the content, it will appear on the 'Popular' tab of the dashboard.
- Similarly, if the content is popular enough it will appear in the 'Recommended Updates' summary sent out by email.
Disabling the 'like' feature
The functionality is provided by a plugin called the 'Confluence Like Plugin'. To remove the 'like' functionality from your site, you can disable the plugin. See Disabling or Enabling a Plugin.