You can disable a user by removing their ability to log in. To do so, just revoke application access from the user by using the the instructions on Managing application access.
Note that revoking application access from a user does not remove the user from any notification groups, and therefore the user will continue receiving notification emails. But they will not be able to log in.
Disabled users do not count towards your licence, but they will remain in the system.