A JIRA group is a convenient way to manage a collection of users. Users can belong to many groups. Groups are used throughout JIRA; for example, they can:

* Project roles are somewhat similar to groups, the main difference being that group membership is global whereas project role membership is project-specific.

On this page:

JIRA's default groups

When you install JIRA, three groups are automatically created:

Group

Description

jira-administrators

Typically contains people who are JIRA system administrators. By default, this group:

jira-developers

Typically contains people who perform work on issues. By default, this group:

  • is a member of the 'Developers' project role.
  • has the 'Browse Users', 'Create Shared Filter' and 'Manage Group Filter Subscriptions' global permissions.

jira-users

Typically contains every JIRA user in your system. By default, this group:

You can create and delete groups according to your organisation's requirements.

(info) Please Note: If you are using External User Management, you will not be able to create, delete or edit groups or group membership from within JIRA; and 'Automatic Group Membership' (see below) will not apply. However, you can still assign groups to project roles.

Viewing groups

To see what groups exist, and where they are used:

  1. Log in as a user with the 'JIRA Administrators' global permission.

  2. (tick) Keyboard shortcut: g + g + start typing groups
  3. To see which permission schemes, email notification schemes, issue security levels and saved filters are using this group, click the group name.

Screenshot: the Group Browser

(info) Please Note: The 'Filter Group' form restricts the list of groups shown to those that match the 'Name Contains', with a specified maximum per page. Click the Filter button to refresh the list with the restricting filter.

Adding a group

To create a group, enter the new group Name in the Add Group form in the Group Browser and click the Add Group button.

Deleting a group

Before deleting a group it is recommended that you check whether the group is being used by any permission schemes, email notification schemes, issue security levels or saved filters. See 'Viewing groups' (above).

To delete a group, click the Delete link for that group in the Group Browser. The confirmation screen that follows explains that users will be removed from the group through its deletion.

Be aware of the impact this may have on users in that group. For example, if that group membership was the sole conveyor of a permission for a user, then the user will no longer have that permission.

Editing group membership

To edit a group's membership, click the Edit Members link in the row for that group in the Group Browser. This takes you to a form allowing you to add users to or remove them from the group.

(info) Please Note:

Automatic group membership

To automatically add newly-created users to a particular group, you can either:

Notes