Viewing Users

To view a list of JIRA users:

  1. Log in as a user with the 'JIRA Administrators' global permission.
  2. Select 'Administration' > 'Users' > 'Users' to open the 'User Browser' page.
    (tick) Keyboard shortcut: 'g' + 'g' + start typing 'users'
    Screenshot 1: the User Browser
  3. To restrict the list of users shown in the User Browser, use the Filter form at the top of the User Browser. Specifying (part of) the user's email and/or group, then clicking the 'Filter' button, will reduce the list to only those users who match those criteria.
  4. To view details and login information about a user in the list, click their Username or Email Address.
    Screenshot 2: User Details

On this page:

Adding a User

  1. Open the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click 'Add User'. This will display the 'Create New User' form.
  2. Enter the Username (note that a user's Username cannot be changed once the user is created), Password, Full Name and Email Address.
  3. Optionally, select the 'Send Password Email' check box to send the user an email containing:
  4. Click the Create button.

(info) Users can also be created via:

(info) Please Note: If you have a user limited license (e.g. starter license) and have reached your user limit, any further users added will not have permission to log in to JIRA.

Assigning a User to a Group

When a user is created, they will be added to any groups that are set up to have new users automatically added to them.

To change a user's group membership:

  1. Locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click the Groups link in the Operations column.
  2. This will display two lists; the one on the left shows all available groups, and the one on the right shows all groups to which the user currently belongs. Use the Join and Leave buttons to add the user to or remove them from your selected group.

(info) Please Note: If you have a user limited license (e.g. starter license) and have reached your user limit, you will not be able to assign any further users to groups with login permissions (i.e. jira-users permission) without first reducing the number of users with login permissions.

Assigning a User to a Project Role

Assigning a user to a project role enables them to fulfil a particular function in a particular project.

To view a user's project role membership, locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click the Project Roles link in the Operations column. This will display a table showing all the projects and project roles that exist in JIRA, and the user's current project role membership for each project:


e.g. this screenshot shows that, for the 'Angry Nerds' project:

Click the Edit Project Roles button. The check boxes will then be available for you to select (to add the user to a project role) or clear (to remove the user from a project role).

Changing a User's Name or Email Address

  1. Locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click their Edit link in the Operations column. This displays a form where you can change the user's Full Name or Email Address.
  2. Click Update to confirm the change.

Changing a User's Password

  1. Locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click their Username. This displays the user's details, below which are several links.
  2. Click the Set Password link. This displays the Set Password screen.
  3. Enter and confirm the new password.
  4. Click the Update button.

Adding a Property to a User

A 'Property' is an extra piece of information that you can store regarding a user. A Property consists of a Key of your choice (eg. 'Phone number', 'Location') plus a corresponding Value (eg. '987 654 3210', 'Level Three').

To create a new Property for a user:

  1. Locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click their Username. This displays the user's details in a box.
  2. Click the Edit Properties link towards the end of the page.
  3. This displays the Edit User Properties screen, showing any previously-created properties:
  4. Enter the new Key and its Value, then click the Add button.

Deactivating a User

(warning) Before you deactivate a user, you should:

To deactivate a user account:

  1. Remove the user from all groups. Read Managing Groups for more information.
  2. Remove the user from all project roles. Read Managing Project Role Membership for more information.

Deactivating the user account will result in the following:

(warning) There is currently no "disabled user" user type in JIRA.

Deleting a User

(info) Rather than deleting a user, we recommend that you deactivate their account instead (as described above). Deactivating a user's account will prevent that account from being used and prevent anyone from being able to log in to JIRA using that account. However, it will preserve that user's issues history.

(warning) Please Note: Before you delete a user, you should bulk-edit the issues involved and change the reporter to someone else. You will need the 'Modify Reporter' permission to change the reporter for the issues. You will also need to allow editing of closed issues if some of the issues the user created are closed and you do not wish to reopen them.

To delete a user:

  1. Locate the user in the User Browser (see Viewing Users above) and click the Delete link in the Operations column.
  2. The confirmation screen that follows will summarise any involvement of that user in the system by showing current issues assigned to and reported by that user, etc. These connections between the user and other parts of the system may prevent the deletion of that user. For example, attempting to delete a user called test-user results in the following screen, which prevents deletion due to the presence of one assigned and two reported issues:

    As well as reassigning any issues, you may need to bulk-edit the issues created by the user and change the 'Reporter' to someone else. You'll need the 'Modify Reporter' permission to do this.
  3. If there are no issues assigned to, or reported by the user, the confirmation screen will display a Delete button; click this to proceed with the deletion.

(info) Please Note:

Notes