Deactivating a user prevents the user from logging in to any applications that use the Crowd framework and also excludes the user from the license count. You would typically do this when a user leaves your organisation.
Deleting a user removes the user completely from the relevant directory.
Deactivating instead of Deleting
We recommend that you deactivate a user rather than delete them, in case some applications contain historical data, such as documents that the user has created. Read more.
For Microsoft Active Directory servers, LDAP Connector Directories and Delegated Authentication Directories will synchronise the status of users with the remote server, if the 'Synchronise User Details' option has been enabled. In other words, if a user account is disabled in Active Directory, it will be deactivated in Crowd on the next synchronisation. Likewise, if a user is deactivated through Crowd, the user account will be disabled in Active Directory. If you want to prevent this synchronisation, enable the 'Manage User Status Locally' option in the directory configuration.
Deactivating a user that resides in LDAP
For applications that need users to exist for historical data (such as JIRA), you should recreate the user and mark it inactive in a Crowd Internal Directory before deleting from your LDAP directory.
Deactivating a User
To deactivate a user,
Screenshot: Deactivating a user
Deleting a User
To delete a user,
Screenshot: Deleting a user