Maintaining Google Apps users
After initially setting up Google Apps integration, you can maintain the user base by converting users to external users or deleting them completely:
- Converting users to external users allows users to continue to access your site; however, they no longer are part of your Google Apps domain. For example, you might need to convert a Google Apps user to an external if he or she becomes a contractor.
- Deleting users prevents users from logging into your site. Deleted users don't count toward your user license limit. You usually need to delete users if they leave your company or move to a different role that doesn't require them to access your site.
Converting Google Apps users to external users
- Note the groups that the user is assigned to. You can do this by selecting > User management. Select the user and then write down the groups listed under the Groups column.
- In your Google domain, delete the user. The next time Google Apps is synched with Atlassian Cloud, the user will be removed from the user base.
- Manually re-enable the user as an external user by re-assigning the user to the groups from which the user account was removed. To do this:
- In Atlassian Cloud, go to > User Management > Users.
- Select the user and click the username.
- In the user information screen which opens, click 'Edit Groups'.
- In the 'Edit User Groups' screen, hold down the 'Ctrl' key, and then click to select the groups the user was originally assigned to.
- Click 'Join' to re-assign the user to these groups.
- Note that since it is impossible for Atlassian Cloud to retrieve the password used in Google, you will need to either reset the user's password via the admin console or have the user reset it when logging in by clicking 'Unable to access your account?' when logging into your site.
- Update the user's email address in Atlassian Cloud to change it from your Google domain.
Deleting Google Apps users
Use the Google Apps domain administration pages to delete users. The next time Google Apps is synched with your site, the user's access will be revoked.
If you want to revoke the user's access immediately, remove the user's application access and group memberships in your site after deleting the user from Google Apps.
Last modified on Feb 12, 2021
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.