If a user has not added or edited any content on the site, you can remove the user from Confluence.

It is not possible to remove a user if the user has contributed content, for example, if they have added a page or blog post, or edited or commented on an existing page. The reason is that Confluence needs the user information to maintain a history of pages. If you wish to prevent such a user from accessing Confluence, you can deactivate the user.

  • Deactivated users can no longer log in to Confluence.
  • Deactivating a user will not remove the content created by them from the site.
  • Deactivated users do not count towards your license count. (See the notes below.)

To remove a user,

  1. Go to the user management screen for the user concerned. The quickest way is to go to the user's Profile and click the 'Administer User' link.
  2. Click 'Remove'.

To deactivate a user,

  1. Remove the user from all groups that have the global 'Can Use' permission. Click 'Edit Groups' to remove the person from the group(s).
  2. If the specific user has the global 'Can Use' permission, you will also need to remove this permission from the user.

Screenshot: Adding and removing users to/from groups

Notes

  • Number of users and your license. The Confluence 'License Details' screen tells you how many users your Confluence instance is licensed to support, and how many are currently registered. See Viewing and Editing License Details. The number of registered users includes only users who have the 'Can Use' global permission. Deactivated users, as described above, are not included.
  • Deactivating users in Confluence 2.0.x and earlier. Earlier Confluence releases provided a 'Deactivate' link. If you click this link, the user will be prevented from logging in to the Confluence site. This function was removed from Confluence 2.1.x and later for performance reasons.
RELATED TOPICS

There is no content with the specified labels