Reset and delete all data from your cloud site

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

descriptionGet step by step instructions to delete all your data from your cloud site and reset it to the original default settings.
productJira, Confluence, Opsgenie
platformCloud

This article applies to the cloud versions of Confluence, Jira (Jira Core, Jira Software, Jira Service Desk) and Opsgenie. It doesn’t apply to Trello, Bitbucket, Statuspage or any user management (including Atlassian Access). It also doesn’t apply to any server products.

This page will take you through how to reset your cloud site to the original default settings. Resetting your cloud site will return it to the default settings of a newly created site and will delete all your data. If you don’t want to delete all your data or you want to re-migrate a project, you can delete an individual project on Jira or an individual space on Confluence.

You may want to reset your cloud site if you:

  • imported or migrated test data that you don’t need anymore

  • inherited the cloud site and don’t need the data

  • have old data or configurations that your users don’t need

Before you begin

To reset your cloud site, you’ll need to need to be a site admin for cloud site you want to reset.

Once you delete a cloud product, all data and settings associated with that product are deleted immediately. Reactivating the product will not recover the data, and we can’t recover your data for you. This does not affect user management or your users' Atlassian accounts; they will not be deleted through this process.

We recommend creating a Confluence site backup or Jira site backup before resetting your products to avoid accidental data loss.

You can find more information about how we store and manage your data on our data storage FAQs.

Resetting your site if you have two or more cloud products

Use these steps if you have at least two different products on your cloud site (for example Confluence and Jira, Jira and Opsgenie, or Confluence and Opsgenie). If you have more than one Jira product, they count as one.

You can choose to only reset one product or you can reset both. If you want to reset both, you will need to do it one at a time.

  1. On your cloud site, go to Administration> Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  2. Look for the product you want to reset (Jira or Confluence), select the 3 dots for more options, and then select Delete.

  3. Enter the word DELETE into the field. 

  4. Once it's done, reactivate the product by going to Administration> Discover applications and select Reactivate on the product you just reset.

  5. After you have reactivated your product, you can then delete another one.

Resetting your site if you only have one cloud product

If you only have one product on your cloud site (Jira, Confluence, or Opsgenie) you will need to activate a trial of another product so you can manage the reset without deleting the whole site.

  1. Activate another product on your cloud site.

    1. On your cloud site, go to Administration> Discover applications

    2. Click Free trial or Reactivate on the other product (For example if you're only using Confluence, you’ll need to activate Jira).

  2. Once your second product is activated, go to Administration> Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  3. Look for the product you want to reset (Jira or Confluence), select the 3 dots for more options, and then select Delete.

  4. Enter the word DELETE into the field. 

  5. Once it's done, reactivate the product by going to Administration > Discover applications and select Reactivate on the product you just reset.

  6. If you no longer need the other product, deactivate it using the instructions from Step 2.

Resetting your site if you use more than one Jira product

If you use more than one Jira cloud product (for example Jira Software and Jira Service Desk) you will need to delete all Jira products to remove your data. If you only delete one, your data will be retained and will be there when you reactivate it.

  1. Make sure you have either Confluence or Opsgenie activated. If not, you’ll need to activate one.

    1. On your cloud site, go to Administration> Discover applications.

    2. Click Free trial or Reactivate on either Confluence or Opsgenie.

  2. Once Confluence or Opsgenie is activated, go to Administration> Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  3. Delete each Jira product by selecting the 3 dots and then Delete.

  4. Enter the word DELETE into the field.

  5. Once you’ve deleted all Jira products, reactivate them by going to Administration > Discover applications and select Reactivate on the product you just reset.

  6. If you no longer need Confluence or Opsgenie, deactivate them using the instructions from Step 2.

Resetting your users and groups

The steps on this page will not remove any users and groups. Follow these guides to delete users and groups from your site:

More information and support

If these steps didn’t work, let our support team know.

Your support request should state:

  1. Which product you want to reset.

  2. That you agree to delete ALL data in the product.

  3. The date and time you need it completed by (either ASAP or your preferred time).

The cloud support team will let you know once the reset has been completed.


Last modified on Jun 23, 2020

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.