This page assumes you have collaborative editing enabled.
A draft is a page you've never published. Unpublished changes are edits that you've made to a published page, without republishing them.
Confluence autosaves your drafts and unpublished changes as you work, so if you get interrupted and close your tab or navigate away, your content lives on for you to resume editing when you're ready.
If you're creating or editing, but don't want to publish your changes yet, hit Close at the bottom-right of the editor. This will save those changes in the editor without publishing, and you can return to them at any point. Closing the editor will land you back on the published version of the page, or, if you're working on a draft, on your Recently worked on list.
On this page:
Find drafts and unpublished changes
Drafts and pages with unpublished changes appear in Recently worked on in the dashboard. You can easily differentiate between these as they'll have a 'draft' or 'unpublished changes' lozenge next to their titles. The 'unpublished changes' lozenge is only visible to people who have contributed to the draft or unpublished changes, so you don't have to worry about it distracting your viewers.
Resume editing a draft
You can find your drafts under Recently worked on or by heading to your profile and clicking on Drafts (only drafts that you created show in your profile). Clicking on a draft will drop you straight into the editor so you can keep editing and/or publish.
If you didn't enter a page title, the draft will be called 'Untitled'.
Resume editing a page with unpublished changes
If you've been editing a page that's already been published, you can find the page again either through the page tree or under your Recently worked on. The 'Unpublished changes' lozenge makes them easy to spot.
Edit the page to see the unpublished changes and keep editing, then, when you're ready, hit Publish.
Delete a draft
Only the person who originally created a draft can delete it. To delete a draft, head to your profile picture at top right of the screen and choose Drafts. Choose Discard next to the draft you want to delete.
Because drafts have never been published, you'll be deleting the entire page or blog post. Discarded drafts are not sent to the trash.
Drafts in Confluence are shared, meaning other people can work on them with you. If you delete a draft that other people have worked on, you're deleting their changes too.