How to disable upgrade recovery file generation in Confluence

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Platform Notice: Server and Data Center Only - This article only applies to Atlassian products on the server and data center platforms.

Purpose

By default, Confluence creates an upgrade recovery file before and after an upgrade. This file can be used to roll back if your upgrade fails. However, generating this file can take long time on sites that are medium sized or larger, and can be safely turned off if you have a robust process to back up your database and verify the backup before performing an upgrade. 

It's important to note that if you disable the upgrade recovery file, and your upgrade fails, you will need to rely solely on your database and file system backups to recover from the problem.  

Solution

To disable the upgrade recovery file:

  1. Stop Confluence.
  2. Set the -Dconfluence.upgrade.recovery.file.enabled system property to false. (i.e. -Dconfluence.upgrade.recovery.file.enabled=false)
    The way you do this will depend on how you run Confluence. See Configuring System Properties to find out how to set system properties in your environment. 
  3. Restart Confluence.

If you're running Confluence in a cluster, you can make this change to each node in turn, you do not need to stop all nodes at once.  

Remember that this property must be set before you begin the upgrade.  If you upgrade Confluence manually, that means updating this property in the setenv.sh  or setenv.bat  file in the install directory of the version you are upgrading to, not just your current install directory. 

DescriptionDisable automatic upgrade recovery file generation
ProductConfluence

Last modified on Jan 26, 2022

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.