How to restart the setup wizard after installing Confluence
Platform notice: Server and Data Center only. This article only applies to Atlassian products on the server and data center platforms.
If you get part-way through the Confluence Setup and then decide you want to start again from scratch, you can delete all the content of the Confluence Home directory. (See Confluence Home and other important directories.)
Confluence uses the confluence.cfg.xml file, stored in the Confluence Home directory, to 'remember' the step you have reached in the setup procedure. Clearing the file will cause the Setup Wizard to start at the beginning again.
This strategy is useful if you want to re-do your setup without having to download Confluence again.
To restart the Confluence Setup Wizard:
- Shut down Confluence.
- Delete the contents inside your Confluence Home directory.
- Start Confluence again.
- Go to
The Confluence setup will start. Follow the steps from the beginning, as described in Confluence Setup.
Embedded database will disappear too
If you are using the embedded database, the database files are stored in the Confluence Home directory too. Deleting the Confluence Home directory will remove all your Confluence Administration Console data as well (users, groups, roles, directories, applications and other configuration data).
This will delete all content from Confluence. It would be best to back up your database and <confluence-home> directory before performing these steps.
Was this helpful?Yes Provide feedback about this article