Removing releases

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Over time, a plan may contain releases that have already been shipped or completed. You may want to consider removing these releases from the plan, to optimize the plan performance.

You may also want to remove releases from a plan for other reasons — a simple one can be that the release created is not really needed in the plan.

Depending on the type of the release you're removing, you will have different options available to you in the more () menu, as explained in the instructions below.

Note that you need the Portfolio for Jira user permission to save release changes in Jira.

Removing a project release

The removal or deletion of a project release depends on whether or not the project release itself has ever been saved to Jira.

To remove a project release:

  1. In the releases view of the plan, find the project release you want to remove.
  2. If the release has not been saved to Jira yet, perform the following steps:
    1. Click more () > Delete. A confirmation message will be displayed.
    2. Click Delete to confirm. The release will be permanently deleted from the plan. Any issues assigned to the release will also be unassigned from it, and will remain in the plan.
  3. If the release has been previously saved to Jira, perform the following steps:
    1. Click more () > Remove. The 'Remove release from plan' dialog will be displayed.
    2. Click Remove to confirm. The release and the issues assigned to it will be removed from the plan. The release and corresponding issues will remain as is in Jira.
  4. Save the changes by doing the following:
    1. Click Review changes. The 'Review changes' dialog will display, with all changes selected by default.
    2. Click Save selected changes in Jira.

Deleting a cross-project release

Cross-project releases are local to and are only used in Portfolio for Jira. This means that these releases are not saved to Jira at all. You're permanently deleting the release — and the release will not remain as is in Jira because it will never have existed in Jira in the first place.

To delete a cross-project release:

  1. In the releases view of the plan, find the cross-project release you want to delete.
  2. Click more () > Delete. A confirmation message will be displayed.
  3. (Optional) Select the Remove all releases from the plan checkbox. This will effectively do the following:
    • Remove all the project releases of the cross-project release from the plan.
    • Any project releases that have been previously saved to Jira will remain as is in Jira.
    • Any project  releases that have not been saved to Jira will be permanently deleted from the plan.
  4. Click Delete to confirm.
  5. Save the changes by doing the following:
    1. Click Review changes. The 'Review changes' dialog will display, with all changes selected by default.
    2. Click Save selected changes in Jira.

Note that the Remove all releases from the plan checkbox in step 3 will be disabled if the cross-project release doesn't have any project releases linked to it.

Last modified on Dec 16, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.