Deleting or deactivating a user

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

Deleting a user removes their Bamboo user account. Deactivating a user prevents them from logging in to Bamboo.

Deleting a Bamboo user

Before you begin:

On this page:

Related pages:

To delete a Bamboo user:

  1. Click the  icon in the Bamboo header and choose  Overview.
  2.  Select Users in the left navigation panel.
  3. Use the Delete link in the 'Operations' column.


Deactivating a Bamboo user

You can deactivate a user, which means that they won't receive any email or IM notifications and they won't be able to log in to your Bamboo instance.

Deactivated users can't recover their passwords, but they can still can trigger builds by committing to repositories.

To deactivate a Bamboo user:

  1. Go to Administration > User management.
  2. Find the user that you want to deactivate.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Unselect the Active user check box:
  5. Click Save.


Alternative scenario:

  1. Go to Administration > User management.
  2. Find the user that you want to deactivate.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Enter a new password for the user.
    (info) If you have configured SMTP email on your Bamboo server, the user will automatically receive an email containing their new password.
  5. To get around the email problem, enter an invalid email address in the Email field, for example foobar@fooobaremailaddress.foobar.
  6. Delete the user's Instant Messaging Address so that he or she does not receive notifications on build events.
  7. Click Save.
Last modified on May 24, 2016

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.