Manage groups

Both individual accounts and teams can use groups to manage access to repositories.  Teams also use groups to grant members rights, to create repositories, and to administer the team.  Groups consist of one or more members all of which must have a Bitbucket Cloud individual account.

 Teams also use groups to grant members rights, to create repositories, and to administer the team to learn more about creating and managing groups for a team see, Managing team user groups.

This page contains the following topics:

Groups Management Controls: individual account

To manage groups, regardless of the account type, go to the Manage page (avatar > Settings) and choose User groups. The Groups page for an individual account has the following controls:  (1) repository access, (2) Edit or remove a group, (3) member list; click on a user name to go to their home page, (4) remove user from group; click the x symbol to remove that member from the group. Go here to see the controls for a team.

Managing Group Access to Repositories

You use Groups to grant several users access to the repositories associated with an account. To control access You set the value:

have permission access to this account's repositories 

If you set no access (no), none of the group members have no access to an account's repositories. Alternatively, you can set any of the following default permissions levels:

Level This permissions allows a user to do the following:
read View, clone, and fork the repository code. All public repositories grant all Bitbucket Cloud users read permissions automatically. Read access on a repository also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.
write Contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly from a repository on a local machine.
admin Can do everything a repository owner can do. This means administrators can:
  • Change repository settings.
  • Add, change, and remove user permissions.
  • Give other users administrator access.
  • Delete the repository.

When you create a repository on an account, Bitbucket determines if the account has any groups with a default permissions (readwrite, or admin) assigned. If it does, Bitbucket adds those groups to the new repository with the default permission. If you specify no default permissions, Bitbucket ignores that group and does not add it.  If you add a new group at the account level, all existing repositories receive the new group automatically. 

Changing a group's permission at the account-level causes Bitbucket to change the permissions for that group on all an account's repositories. Repository administrators can prevent this change by setting repository-specific settings.  See Granting Users Access to a Repository for more information.  

Keep in mind the group permission applies to all members. If you give a group administrator permission to your repository, any group member can administer the repository through its Admin tab.  If you are concerned about inadvertently giving users access to your repositories, always specify no default group permissions. 

Adding a Team to a Group Has No Effect

Bitbucket Cloud allows you to add a team to a group or directly to a repository. Adding a team to a group does not give the individual team members access. It has no effect; the ability to do this is a bug.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport