4 Levels of Bitbucket Server Permissions

Bitbucket Server provides 4 levels of permissions that are all administered through the UI. The hierarchy of permissions are as follows:

1. Global Permissions: Who can log into Bitbucket Server, who the system admin is, etc....
2. Project Permissions: Read, write, and admin permissions at the project (groups of repositories) level.
3. Repository Permissions: Read, write, and admin permissions on a per repository basis.
4. Branch Permissions: Write (push) access on a per branch basis.

All permissions can be set on a user or group basis. Bitbucket Server allows you to create groups of users (i.e. contractors, senior developers, etc..) to simplify the management of permissions. To learn more see Users and Groups.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport