Global permissions

Administering Bitbucket Server

On this page

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.

Ask the community

User and group access

Bitbucket Server uses four levels of account permissions to control user and group access to Bitbucket Server projects and to the Bitbucket Server instance configuration.


User accounts that have not been assigned "Bitbucket Server User" permission or higher, either directly or through group membership, will not be able to log in to Bitbucket Server. These users are considered unlicensed and do not count towards your Bitbucket Server license limit.

You can also apply access permissions to projects.

A user's permission level is displayed on the user's page seen from the admin area.


Login / BrowseCreate projectsManage users / groupsManage global permissionsEdit application settingsEdit server config
Bitbucket User

(tick)

(error)(error)(error)(error)(error)
Project Creator

(tick)

(tick)

(error)(error)(error)(error)
Admin

(tick)

(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)
System Admin

(tick)

(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)


To edit the account permissions for an existing Bitbucket Server user or group:

  1. In the admin area, select Global permissions (under 'Accounts').
  2. Select, or clear, the permission checkboxes as required.
  3. Select in the Add Users or Add Groups field to set permissions for additional users or groups.

You can remove all permissions for a user or group by clicking the X at the right-hand end of the row (when you hover there). This will remove that user or group.

Policies

Policies in Bitbucket Data Center are also set in Global Permissions and contain instance-wide permissions associated with user access to projects and repositories. Control who can delete a repository based on what level of permissions a user has including System Admin, Admin, Project Admin, and Repository Admin. By default, a user with Repository Admin access and higher can delete repositories.

To set the delete repository policy:

  1. In Global Permissions, select the Policies tab.

  2. Select from the options of permissions, who can delete a repository.

  3. Select Save.

Last modified on Jul 9, 2020

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.