Choosing a default language


Most user-visible pages in JIRA are now internationalized. When JIRA is first installed, you can select from the default languages:

  • Chinese,
  • Czech,
  • Danish,
  • English (UK or US),
  • Estonian,
  • Finnish,
  • French,
  • German,
  • Hungarian,
  • Icelandic,
  • Italian,
  • Japanese,
  • Korean (South Korean),
  • Norwegian,
  • Polish,
  • Portuguese (Brazilian),
  • Romanian,
  • Russian,
  • Slovak,
  • Spanish (Spain), and
  • Swedish.

(warning) Note: For all of the following procedures, you must be logged in as a user with the JIRA Administrators global permission.

On this page:

Changing the default language

  1. Choose > System
  2. Select General Configuration to open the Administration page. 
  3. Click the 'Edit Settings' button, then select the appropriate language in the drop-down box next to 'Default language'.
    Any additional languages you have installed will appear in the list. See Translating JIRA.

Per-user language selection

Individual users can manage their user profile, which will override the default language (see above).

Overriding the default translations of issue types, resolutions, statuses, and priorities

Should you wish, you can easily specify your own translations for the values of the following JIRA issue fields:

  • Issue type
  • Priority
  • Status
  • Resolution

Your specified translations will override the values specified in the JIRA translation.

Related topics

Last modified on Jan 11, 2018

Was this helpful?

Provide feedback about this article

In this section

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.