Managing filters

A filter is a saved issue search. Jira users can search for issues using different criteria in basic or advanced search, and then save their results as a filter, becoming the filter’s owner. The owner can decide what to do with their filter—either make it private for personal use or share it with different entities, such as users, projects, or groups. If the filter is private, only the owner and Jira admin can view and modify it.

You need to be a Jira administrator to complete all of the following tasks.

Viewing filters

You can view and manage all existing filters, whether they're private or shared, from the administration area.

  1. Go to Administration () > System.

  2. Select Filters in the sidebar.

  1. Search/Owner: Search existing filters by name or description, or enter the username to see all filters belonging to a user.

  2. Name: Select the filter name to open it. You’ll be able to edit the filter’s search criteria, add or change existing shares, and manage the subscriptions.

  3. Shared with: Check the users or other entities the filter is shared with. For more info on what they mean, see Understanding shares.

  4. Actions: Change the filter’s ownership, or delete it.

  5. Popularity: Check the number of users who have selected this filter as their favorite.

Editing filters

You can change the filter's search criteria, owner, permissions, or subscriptions. 

  1. Select the filter name. You’ll be moved to the search page.

  2. Click Details to view quick info about the filter. From there, you can:

    • Edit permissions – add or change viewers and editors.

    • Edit subscription – add or change subscriptions.

Deleting filters or changing their owners

You can change the filter’s ownership or delete it altogether. This is useful if:

  • The filter’s owner is no longer with your organization

  • The filter returns too many issues, which can affect performance

tip/resting Created with Sketch.

Before changing the owner or deleting a filter, it’s good to inform the filter’s current owner of your intentions.

  1. Select Actions () next to the filter’s name.

  2. Select Change owner or Delete.

 Understanding the shares

In one of the columns, Shared with, you can check who can view or edit a filter. Here are the types of entities that a filter can be shared with, just so you know what you’re managing.

Shared withDescription
PrivateThe filter is private and can only be viewed and edited by the owner and Jira admins.
User / Group / ProjectThe filter is shared with a user, group, or project. Depending on the permissions granted, people the filter is shared with can view or edit the filter.
Any logged-in userThe filter is shared with all users on your Jira instance.
Anyone on the web

If a filter is Shared with anyone on the web, this allows public access to certain information on your site. If you want to prevent people who aren’t logged in from viewing this information and limit access to your logged in users, either:

Last modified on Jul 15, 2020

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.