Invite, edit, and remove users

You can invite or remove users from the Site administration, or you can set up a Google Apps integration for user and group management.

On this page:

Invite users

When you add a user to your Users list, you're inviting a user with the specific email address to your site. If the user with that email address has an Atlassian account, they'll now be able to log in to your site. If the user doesn't have an account, we'll walk them through the Atlassian account sign-up process. Once they're into your site, their account exists outside your site so that they can use that same account to log in to other sites.

If we haven't upgraded your users to Atlassian accounts yet

When you add a user to your Users list, that user can't log in to other sites like they'll be able to do with an Atlassian account.

 

  1. Head to 
     >  User management
    .
  2. Click the Create user button at the top-right to open the Create user screen.
  3. Enter the Email address you want the user to use to log in.

    If you add a user's wrong email address to your site

    If you invite a user with an email address other than their Atlassian account email address, and they end up creating a new account, they can't combine the two accounts. You'll need to re-invite the user with their original account and remove access for their other account. If they created any content while logged in with the second account, that content will still exist but will be associated with the user details of the old account.

  4. Enter a Username and Full name for the user.
  5. Select the products from the Applications access list. When you save this page, the user will be in groups for those applications, so you can always change them later.
  6. (Optional) Add the user to additional Group(s) for your site. To do that, expand Additional options and start typing a group's name.
  7. (Optional) If you don't want to send the Invite message when you click Create user, deselect Send invitation email. When you're ready, go to the Users page and click Resend next to the user.
  8. Click Create user.
    If you need to create more users, select Create another before you click Create user.

If you've linked Bitbucket accounts with JIRA applications, you can add new users to a Bitbucket group from the Bitbucket account management page.

Edit users

You can change someone's username, name, and email address for their account by editing the user from the user management page.

You can only edit details for your users' accounts if they have managed accounts for a domain that you've verified.

  1. Head to 
     >  User management
    .
  2. On the Users page, select the user you want to edit to open their details.
  3. Click Edit, modify their details, and click Save.

Deactivate or delete users

Delete a user if you don't want them to appear on your site at all. Deactivate a user if you don't want them to log in to your site, but you still want to manage them. Deactivated users don't add to your user count, and you can filter to see all deactivated users from the Users page.

You'll need to deactivate a user's account rather than delete it if the user has done any of the following:

  • Reported or been assigned to any issues in JIRA applications
  • Commented on any issues in JIRA applications
  • Added or edited any content in Confluence (including edits and comments on existing pages)

To deactivate a user:

  1. Go to 

     >  User management
    .

  2. On the Users screen, select the user you want to deactivate to open the user details.
  3. On the user details screens, select Deactivate.

You can always reactivate a user later if you want to. To do so, click the Activate button on the user details screen.

To delete a user:

  1. Choose 
     >  User management
    .
  2. Select the user you want to delete.
  3. Choose Delete.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport