Add or Remove Page Restrictions
This content applies to the legacy editor and the new editor.
Even in a shared space, you may have a page or blog that you're not ready to share with everyone yet. Or perhaps you have some confidential content that's only meant for a few eyes. Whatever the reason, Confluence lets you set view and edit restrictions at the page level, so you can keep your content as open, or closed, as you need.
Change who can view or edit a page
Confluence is an open by default ecosystem. This means that whenever you publish a page (assuming you haven't touched any settings) it will be accessible by the maximum audience possible. You can change this in your page's Restrictions window. To open this window, click the Restrictionsicon at the top of any page.
There are 3 primary settings for page restrictions.
Whenever changing anything in the Restrictions window, remember to click Apply, or else the changes won't be saved.
Anyone can view and edit
This is the default restrictions setting and means that there are no restrictions and anyone is welcome to the content.
"Anyone" can be a complicated term to understand here because restrictions setting are inherited. If your page's parent page has restrictions around who can view it, then your page inherits those restrictions and "Anyone" on your page really means "Anyone who isn't restricted from viewing the parent page." You can tell if your page is inheriting restrictions from any of its parent pages by looking for the content There are inherited view restrictions under the restrictions window's dropdown menu and above the user name search bar.
The same concept applies to restrictions at the space level. Let's say everyone at your organization uses Confluence, but the space your team uses is restricted only to the members of your team. In this scenario, your page inherits that restriction, so that your page's setting of "Anyone can view and edit" really means "Anyone on your team can view and edit," because that's everyone who has access to the space. Confluence will let you know when space permissions are restricting someone's ability to view or edit a page with a message next to that person's name in the restrictions window.
Anyone can view, some can edit
This is a quick way to lock down who can edit the page. By choosing Anyone can view, some can edit, anyone can still view the page, but you remove the ability to edit this page from everyone but yourself.
From here, you can choose specific people who you want to edit the page. Just type a user's name or a group into the search bar and click Add to add them to the list. You can add multiple people and groups to the list at once. To remove someone, simply click the Remove link.
Don't forget to click Apply when you're done, or the changes won't be saved.
If you want to restrict anyone from viewing your page, you have to choose Only specific people can view or edit.
Only specific people can view or edit
This is the setting you want for keeping your content private. By choosing Only specific people can view or edit — initially, this will lock the page down so that only you can view and edit it.
From here, you can choose specific people who you want to view the page and who you want to edit the page. Just type a user's name or a group into the search bar, choose whether they Can view or Can edit, and click Add to add them to the list. You can add multiple people and groups to the list at once.
Don't forget to click Apply when you're done, or the changes won't be saved.
Some other things to keep in mind:
- Confluence groups: Instead of applying restrictions to individuals, use Confluence groups to save on typing out individual names.
- Additive permissions: Confluence permissions are additive. That is, if someone is in two Confluence groups, and one has permission to see a page while the other does not, that person will still be able to see the page.
- Anonymous access: You can make certain spaces, or even your whole site, available to the public - which means they don't need to log in to access your content. You can choose what level of permissions you'd like to grant these users.
- Mentioning users: If a user doesn't belong to the page's restrictions, they won't receive a notification in the scenario where they are @ mentioned in the restricted page. It will be necessary to add this user to the page's restrictions or remove them completely from the page.
What does the lock icon mean?
You can find the padlock icon that represents a page's restrictions at the top of the page. It opens the Restrictions window, but it can also give you a quick clue to who can view the page.
|Anyone can view this page. Anyone could be able to edit, but not necessarily.|
|Only specific people can view or edit this page.|
|This page is set so anyone can view it, but it has inherited restrictions from another page.|
How restricted are restrictions?
If your page has view restrictions, it won't display in either the page tree or in any macros, to people who don't have permission to view it.
For the most part, unless someone else has specifically been given a link to your page, they won't know it exists.
- If someone has shared a link to a restricted page, or linked to it on another page, the link will have the title of the page as part of the URL. However, they won't be able to tell anything else about the page, including who created it, who has permissions, or when it was updated.
- Space admins can see and change the restrictions on any content within their space.
- Site admins can see and change the restrictions on any content within their site.
Request and grant permissions
If you try to view or edit a page that you don't have permission to, you'll see a modal that lets you request that permission. We'll notify you if you're granted permission.
If someone asks permission to view or edit a restricted page, we'll email whoever is in the best position to grant permission. Our first choice is the page creator. If the page creator is unable to grant permission (if their account is deactivated or if their page access has been revoked), then we’ll send the email to the last person who updated the page. If no page creators or editors are able to grant permission, then we’ll send the email to a space admin instead.
If you receive a permission request, you can choose to grant it, deny it, or ignore the email. That person may ask again, but we don't require a response from you if you don't wish to give one.
How do permissions all fit together?
Every organization has different needs, so Confluence lets you customize permissions at the site, space, and page level so that they're just right for you.
Here's a quick rundown of how it all works:
- Open by default: Confluence is open by default, so it won't have any restrictions unless you add them.
- Global: Your site admin sets this. Global permissions choose what a person can do on your entire site, but only deal with site level actions like whether you can create a space.
- Space: Set by the space admin, this decides what each user can do in that space.
- Page: Anyone with restrict permissions can add restrictions to pages, although you cannot restrict yourself.
Space permissions are granted at the space level, whereas page restrictions are designed to take away said permissions.
If there are no space permissions to take away, then page restrictions do nothing.
If there are no page restrictions but you still can't view or edit, it's because you don't have the necessary space permissions.
For space admins
View all restricted pages in a space
To view restricted pages:
Go to the space and choose Space settings > Permissions from the bottom of the sidebar
- Choose Restricted Pages. From here, you can click on the Restrictions icon to remove the restrictions.