Invite, edit, and remove users

You can invite or remove users from the site Administration area, or you can integrate with G Suite for user and group management.

Invite users

When you add a user to your Users list, you're inviting a user with that specific email address to your site. If the user with that email address has an Atlassian account, they'll now be able to log in to your site. If the user doesn't have an account, we'll walk them through the Atlassian account signup process. Although they're logged in to your site, their account exists outside your site so that they can use that same account to log in to other sites.

  1. Go to  Site administration.
  2. Click  > Invite a user in the sidebar.

  3. Enter the Email address you want the user to log in with (you can enter more than one at a time). You'll also have the option of allowing any user with that email domain to join your site without being invited. See Configure site access for more information.

    If you invite a user with a wrong email address

    If you invite a user using an email address other than their Atlassian account email address, and they end up creating a new Atlassian account, they can't combine the two accounts. You'll need to re-invite the user with their original account and remove access for their other account. If they created any content while logged in with the second account, that content will still exist but will be associated with the user details of the original account.

  4. Select which Permission your new user should have.

    Basic

    Can access products.

    Has no admin privliges.

    Trusted

    Can invite other users, add products, and administer products.

    Can't do any other site admin tasks.

    Site administrator

    Can access all site admin settings.

  5. For Basic users, select the products from the Application access list that they should have access to. You can always change this later.
  6. (Optional) Personalize the message that users will receive when you invite them. You can also choose to not send a message at all, and you can go to the Users page and click Resend next to the user if you change your mind.
  7. Click Invite users.

If you've linked Bitbucket accounts with Jira products, you can add new users to a Bitbucket group from the Bitbucket groups page.

Send reminder emails to users you've invited

This section only applies to managing Jira Cloud users.

You might have users you've invited to your Jira Cloud site, who never log in. This can get quite costly because you're billed for all users you've invited - including those who have never logged in. To help you stay on top of this, we'll send you a notification in your Atlassian Cloud site every week with a list of these users, so you can send them a reminder email. You won't get any notifications if every user you invite logs in to your site.

If you'd like to stop these weekly notifications, please contact Atlassian Support.

Edit user's accounts

An organization admin can only edit details of accounts that have become managed as a result of domain verification – see Set up an Atlassian organization.

For unmanaged accounts, only the user can edit account details – see Atlassian account for users.

Remove users

Remove a user if you don't want them to appear on your site. Removing a user from one site, doesn’t remove them from your organization or other sites you manage.

Only organization admins can deactivate or delete a user from organizations and across sites. For more information, see Deactivate a managed account and Delete a managed account.

To remove a user:

  1. From the Site administration, select Users.

  2. From the user you want to remove, select Show details from the Actions column.
    You may need to click the dropdown to see this option.

  3. On the user details screen, click Remove user.

Last modified on Feb 27, 2019

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
Provide feedback about this article
Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport.