Delete or Restore a Page

When you delete a Confluence page, we'll move it to the space's trash. It's not permanently deleted, and can be restored by a space admin, until the page is permanently deleted from the trash.

Don't see a delete option?  Delete only appears if you are allowed to delete the page. Both space permissions and page restrictions can prevent you from deleting. 

Delete a single page

When you delete a page in Confluence, you're deleting its page history too. If you only want to delete a specific version of a page, take a look at the instructions below for deleting a specific version.

To delete a page:

  1. Go to the page and choose > Delete. 
  2. We'll warn you of any issues, such as incoming links that will break. Choose Delete to proceed.  

The page will be sent to the trash, where it can be restored by a space admin.  

Any child pages (including any restricted pages that you are not allowed to see) will move up to the nearest parent page.

Delete a page hierarchy

When deleting a page that has child pages you have the option to delete the entire page hierarchy.

 To delete a page hierarchy:

  1. Navigate to the parent page and choose  > Delete.
  2. Choose Also delete child pages then hit Next.
  3. We'll warn you of any issues, such as incoming links that will break. Choose Delete to proceed.  

The pages will be sent to the trash, where they can be restored by a space admin.  

Any pages that are restricted (that you are not allowed to see or delete) will not be deleted and will move up to the nearest parent page. 

Delete a page version

Space admins can delete specific versions from the page history. This is useful if you need to prevent older versions of a page being restored in future. Deleting a page version is permanent and cannot be undone. 

To delete a specific version of a page:

  1. Go to the page and choose > Page History
  2. Choose Delete next to the version you want to delete.

Once you've deleted a version, the other versions are re-numbered where necessary.

Restore deleted pages

If you're a space admin you can restore deleted pages back into a space.  This is useful if someone accidentally deletes a page and needs to get it back.

To restore a deleted page:

  1. Go to the space and choose Space tools > Content Tools from the bottom of the sidebar
  2. Choose Trash.
  3. Choose  > Restore next to the page you wish to restore.

Pages are restored to the root of the space. Head to Space Tools > Reorder Pages to drag your restored page back into the page hierarchy. 

Empty the trash or permanently delete a page

If you're a space admin you can permanently delete a page (and all its attached files) by purging it from the trash. Once purged, the page and all its versions and attached files will be gone for good. 

To purge deleted pages:

  1. Go to the space and choose Space tools > Content Tools from the bottom of the sidebar
  2. Choose Trash.
  3. Choose  > Purge next to a specific page or you can Purge all to completley empty the trash. 

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

Why was this unhelpful?

Have a question about this article?

See questions about this article

Powered by Confluence and Scroll Viewport